Attack then Pounce/Face-to-Face for Move

By Smashotron, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

1) Can you perform an attack (or action containing an attack), and then use Pounce or Face-to-Face for the movement (but not the attack)?

2) Can you use Shyla's Mandalorian Whip to move a hostile figure adjacent, choose not the attack, and then perform a regular attack (or different action containing an attack) on the same (or different) hostile figure?

Edited by Smashotron

Ι believe NO on 1 and 2, its unlike call the vanguard or Vaders finest. When the actions have AND A or just AND between them you can perform each one of them not both necessarily.

In your cases, its perform two sequential actions with one Special Action . You cant brake them. Otherwise the text would not be called Pounce or Face to Face

1) Strictly no, because Pounce contains an attack (being optional doesn't matter).

2) No, the attack from Mandalorian Whip isn't optional.

The attack does not get performed only if something drastic happens to the target figure during the push, mostly when entering a space adjacent to Shyla (which is a prerequisite for being able to perform Mandalorian Whip). (For example dropping through a trapdoor in skirmish or being defeated by Parting Blow, etc.)

Edited by a1bert

That is what i thought on all cases but I was looking for opportunities to get some extra movement. Thanks!

A related question, if Shyla has attacked, can she use Mandalorian Whip simply to move a figure? I'm thinking of playing To the Limit on Onar Koma, which is legal even though he cannot take the stun condition (under the "fulfill as much as possible" rule). With Shyla, you could legally move a figure, but couldn't attack again ... but is she prevented from beginning the ability at all because it includes a mandatory attack as part of it? My sense is that she would be thus prevented, but happy to take this opportunity to confirm.

2 hours ago, GottaBadFeelingAboutThis said:

A related question, if Shyla has attacked, can she use Mandalorian Whip simply to move a figure?

In Skirmish: No. In Campaign: yes. :D

Mandalorian Whip is an action containing an attack. (The attack is not even optional, so there is no possible argument against it.)

-- A non-hero figure can use only one of its actions to perform
an attack per activation.

It isn't a case of activate an ability and perform as much as you can. It is a case of not being able to activate an ability at all.

If Shyla whips a figure into the pit on Jabba's palace and therefore cannot complete the part of the ability containing an attack, can she use her second action to attack another adjacent figure?

36 minutes ago, brettpkelly said:

If Shyla whips a figure into the pit on Jabba's palace and therefore cannot complete the part of the ability containing an attack, can she use her second action to attack another adjacent figure?

Strictly Mandalorian Whip is an action containing an attack, even when it could not be performed. In skirmish I would expect to use the most stringent interpretation.