Bulkheads vs. Garels Honor taking a structual dmg

By Rocco79, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hi Folks,

as written in the titel. its clear that Garel is forcing him an open card to take, so bulkheads do not work. But what if this Crit is a structual dmg, since we’re still in the same step, will bulkheads prevent the 2nd dmg?

thanks in advance

Hi!

I think that a large ship equipped with hardened bulkheads ignore the overlapping effect of Garel's Honor, since a Hammerhead Corvette its a small size ship and a ship equipped with hardened bulkheads must be a large one.
So the overlapping damage is ignored and Garel's effect gone.

no, thats wrong!

Garel is giving an open card, bulkheads do nothing against this. the 2nd part of my question is the important one.

IIRC it's the damage card that gives the 2nd damage not garels honour so that by passes bulkheads as well.

Sorry but i don't understand why a large ship equipped with Hardened Bulkheads could take a damage card when Garel's overlaps it.
Garel's Honour tells me that, when I overlap an enemy ship, instead of giving to it a facedown damage card, it recive a faceup card.
But, as I can understand reading Hardened Bulkheads card, the large ship receive one fewer damage card due to be overlapped...so how could even take a second damage card if the initial one was canceled?
Maybe I'm misreading both cards....

40 minutes ago, Kieran Rexer said:

Sorry but i don't understand why a large ship equipped with Hardened Bulkheads could take a damage card when Garel's overlaps it.
Garel's Honour tells me that, when I overlap an enemy ship, instead of giving to it a facedown damage card, it recive a faceup card.
But, as I can understand reading Hardened Bulkheads card, the large ship receive one fewer damage card due to be overlapped...so how could even take a second damage card if the initial one was canceled?
Maybe I'm misreading both cards....

You are misreading hardened bulkheads

Hardenrd bulkheads is one less FACEDOWN damage card.

it Does not apply to Garels

Edited by Drasnighta

9 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

You are misreading hardened bulkheads

Probably you're right Dras, please explain me how Hardened Bulkheads works!
At the moment, none in my play group played this card, but I want be prepared....just in case ;)

Thanks!

1 minute ago, Kieran Rexer said:

Probably you're right Dras, please explain me how Hardened Bulkheads works!
At the moment, none in my play group played this card, but I want be prepared....just in case ;)

Thanks!

Normal:

Hammerhead overlaps isd. Both take facedown card.

Bulkheads:

Hammerhead overlaps isd. Hammerhead takes facedown card, isd takes nothing. (One less facedown)

Garels:

hammerhead overlaps isd. Hammerhead takes face down, isd takes face up.

garels and bulkheads:

Hammerhead overlaps isd. Hammerhead takes face down, isd takes face up, as bulkheads only reduces face down cards.

Isd damaged controls:

Hammerhead overlaps. hammerhead takes face down, isd takes 2 face downs

Garels and isd damaged controls

Hammerhead overlaps, hammerhead takes face down, isd takes face up and face down.

garels bulkheads and isd damaged controls:

hammeehead overlaps, hammerhead takes face down. Isd takes face up from Garels and nothing else, as it is taking one less face down from the overlap, which would normally be one due to damaged controls.

Ok got it! The mistake was about "one fewer facedown card"....there is mutch to learn... :)
Thanks Dras!