Kayn Somos Firing squad and Single Purpose

By topacesteve, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello, what happens with Somos' Firing Squad and generally cards with Special Action that lets another unit perform an interrupted attack. Can i play

Single Purpose since its not Somos himself performing these attacks? (1 attack per activation rule)

Yes. Firing Squad is not an action containing performing attacks. Firing Squad is a variation on Executive Order .

(I guess you could think that "interrupt to perform" means it happens 'outside of the ability', but it's not an actual rule.)

(ps. it's not actually a 1-attack-per-activation rule. It's one action containing attacks per activation rule.)

Edited by a1bert

one action containing attacks per activation rule ???? really??? is that in the RRG?

30 minutes ago, topacesteve said:

one action containing attacks per activation rule ???? really??? is that in the RRG?

RRG, Actions said:

-- A non-hero figure can use only one of its actions to perform an attack per activation.

Emphasis mine. Thus, additional attacks can be performed from abilities that are not actions, such as Jedi Luke's Heroic and the Sustained Fire class card in the campaign without counting towards the limit.

Also note that (special) actions that cost two action(points) are still single actions.

Edited by a1bert

Then the combo SOMOS-SINGLE PURPOSE - FIRING SQUAD on (VADERS FINEST)SENTRY DROIDS and SQUAD SWARM on (VF)SENTRIES afterwards is

extraoridnary !!!! Thank you very much guys !!!

On ‎29‎.‎03‎.‎2018 at 10:47 AM, topacesteve said:

Then the combo SOMOS-SINGLE PURPOSE - FIRING SQUAD on (VADERS FINEST)SENTRY DROIDS and SQUAD SWARM on (VF)SENTRIES afterwards is

extraoridnary !!!! Thank you very much guys !!!

No it's not, for multiple reasons.

1. Firing Squad lets Troopers perform an attack. Multi-Fire is not an attack but a special action. Therefore, Multi-Fire can't be used during Firing Squad.

2. Firing Squad lets Troopers perform attacks. Charged Shot is not an attack but a special action. Therefore, Charged Shot can't be used during Firing Squad.

3. Firing Squad lets Troopers perform attacks. Both abilities gained by Vader's Finest are not attacks but special actions. Therefore, Vader's Finest can't be used during Firing Squad.

4. Vader's Finest has a special action that gives you 2 movement points and an attack. Charged Shot is not an attack but a special action. Therefore, Charged Shot can't be used during that special action.

5. Vader's Finest has a special action that gives you 2 movement points and an attack. Multi-Fire is not an attack but a special action. Therefore, Multi-Fire can't be used during that special action.

So there is absolutely NO allowed interaction between Vader's Finest, the Sentries' Multi-Fire or Charged Shot and Somos' Firing Squad.

6. Squad Swarm has a combined maximum of 15 points. Somos is 10 points, eSentries are 10, ... need I say more?

Edited by DerBaer

Also, you can't squad swarm with Kayn, since Squad Swarm has to share a name between the two groups.

On 3/29/2018 at 4:04 AM, a1bert said:

I guess you could think that "interrupt to perform" means it happens 'outside of the ability', but it's not an actual rule.

In regards to this Q/A, "Q: Can “Single Purpose” be used to perform a special action twice if that action involves performing an attack? A: No," what makes Firing Squad/Executive Order/Overclock not count as 'a special action...that involves performing an attack'? All three say a figure may interrupt to perform an attack. It sounds like all three are special actions that involve performing attacks.

The only one action containing attacks restriction is only for a figure during its activation. (A figure can spend only one of its actions to perform attacks during its activation.) Other figures can perform attacks without them counting towards the limit, and the activating figure can perform attacks from abilities that do not cost actions without the attacks counting towards the limit. Actions that cause figures to suffer damage but are not attacks can also be used.

The activating figure isn't performing an attack when resolving Executive Order, Command, Overclock, or Firing Squad.

RRG,Actions said:

-- A non-hero figure can use only one of its actions to perform
an attack per activation.

Edited by a1bert

But the FAQ Q/A makes no distinction on which figure is performing the attack. They are still special actions "that involve performing attack(s)" even if the activating figure is not the attacker. There is nothing in the rules for Interrupt that would define these special actions as _not_ involving performing attack(s) just because another figure performs the attack.

My case is not about exceeding the one-attack-per-(your)-activation rule, its about what constitutes "a special action that involves performing an attack."

Edited by Smashotron

Poor wording on the FAQ question does not change the rules on the RRG.

(It is not an errata. It simply is saying you can't get around your attack action limitation using Single Purpose.)

Edited by a1bert