Crafting expendetures

By MamoruK, in Game Masters

So the rules for crafting state that the player can spend advantage/triumphs, THEN the GM can spend threat/despair. Can someone point me in the direction of a clarification on this because for the longest time I thought they just cancel out like normal. However rereading this it seems that both advantage and threat are spent. I've messeged the devs about it but if there is already a post somewhere that gives a definitive answer I would like to know where it is.

I'm not sure if or where it's answered in the book—I'm AFB right now—but it's generally accepted as a good idea nonetheless. It makes for much more interesting results when crafting items.

They do cancel out. The new Shipwright class does have talents that be used to add advantages but also give threats for the GM to use.

yea the talent is the reason this has come up so that's why I need clarification. Can you site a source for that?

There's a challenge. I think there was a clarification that the normal rules are followed somewhere in the dev questions thread. Will try to find it.

A source is tricky as there isn't normally a need to add "follow the rules for rolling dice that apply everywhere else in the game" after a rule section.

(Though it's a bit of a shame as normally one or two threats just add character).

Oggdude's also interprets it that way, which indicates its usually the mainstream interpretation.

Actually, just looks like references to a PodCast with the Devs :

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/247085-crafting-ruleinterpretation

Edited by Darzil

It is just deliiniating the exact order of interpreting the dice result. in other roles, the order of what is spent first can be fluid and dependant on the circumstances.

But for crafting, the Devs clearly want it to be specific.

PC Spends ANY uncancelled advantage/Triumph they have

THEN

The GM spends any uncancelled threat/Dispair that remains

It depends what you want, funk du master is right, but is it more interesting to apply both triumph and despairs effects onto the modified equipment? It is up to the gm but RAW is what master funk fu wrote earlier.

I have right now a specialist in mods and I recommend you to not let your player try to correct the wrong doings on is mods without making it harder or alot of setbacks.

You would, as Triumph and Despair don't cancel each other.

Yes, as a GM I never make the triumph be canceled by despair, and vice versa. Yes you shot the stormtrooper with deadly acurracy, but you ran out of ammo (for exemple)

Got a table of 5 players, they never complained about this way of doing.

triumphs and despair never cancel out as per RAW anyway, I was more just talking about advantage and threat.

I think I heard some rumbling that only with crafting, do threat and advantage not cancel each other out. Which might give reason for players wanting to use their advantage to remove difficulty dice from their rolls.

I haven't done it, but I've always been a fan of allowing the player to choose if and/or how many of the advantages cancel. That way a player takes the risk to get more advantages while giving the GM more room to make the weapon more unique.