Will Snare Trap trigger if an enemy spawns at the location it is attached to?
My literal interpretation is that it only triggers if an enemy moves into the location. Am I wrong?
Will Snare Trap trigger if an enemy spawns at the location it is attached to?
My literal interpretation is that it only triggers if an enemy moves into the location. Am I wrong?
Snare trap does trigger if the enemy spawns at Snare Trap's location. Compare the wording with Barricade, which does have no effect against enemies spawning on Barricade's location.
It's also consistent with the rules on Locations:
QuoteThe first time a location is entered by an investigator, that location is revealed by turning it to its other side and placing a number of clues on it equal to its clue value (this may occur during setup).
Obviously, investigators do not move into locations at setup: They enter play at a location without moving. Thus, you can "enter" a location without "moving into" that location.
Safe to say snare trap does nothing if you play it at a location that already has an enemy? It would have no effect on an enemy that's already there right?
1 hour ago, Donel said:Safe to say snare trap does nothing if you play it at a location that already has an enemy? It would have no effect on an enemy that's already there right?
Indeed. It's too late for that enemy.
What if a second enemy arrives in the same round (e.g. ,a second hunter)?
When Snare Trap's first forced ability triggers (when the first enemy arrives), it is attached to that enemy.
I would think that that causes it to be detached from the location, which would mean that it the first forced ability wouldn't apply to the second enemy ("After a non-Elite enemy enters attached location" - there no longer is an attached location.)
But the rules for Attach To say "an attachment remains attached until either the attachment or the game element to which it is attached leaves play (in which case the attachment is discarded), or unless a card ability explicitly detaches the card."
Clearly, nothing leaves play in this case. Would "attach Snare Trap to it [the first enemy]" could as an explicit statement of detachment? (Seems pretty implicit to me.)
You can't attach a card to two other cards simultaneously, any more than you can have one card in both your deck and discard pile at the same time. It's a physical limitation of the card itself.
This particular case is where the Golden Rule comes into play. The general rule is that cards only detach when something leaves play; however, the specific text of Snare Trap can only be resolved if you detach it from its location, so it takes precedence.