Rules Question about Attack Dice Pools and Weapon Keywords

By Hrathen, in Star Wars: Legion

It seems to me that once you gather different dice from your different weapons you just roll them together as a single attack. But the questions comes from the different keywords that different weapons have.

Suppose a unit of Rebel Troopers is attacking. 4 of them are using impact grenades, they contribute 1 black dice each with impact 1. But one of the troopers fires his Z-6 contributing 6 white dice. The pool is now 4 black and 6 white with impact 4. Can the hits rolled on the white dice (contributed by the Z-6) be turned into crits by the impact (contributed by the impact grenades)?

I know it seems to go against logic, but I think they can. If this is not the case it is pretty clear that black dice can take advantage of the impact but white dice can't. But what if the weapons contributing the keywords use the same kind of dice as other weapons? Do you have to roll them separately?

image.png.d674a65ea98a2fe4b95ebd77dafd219e.png

There is no where in the modify attack dice step that says that weapons can only modify dice they contributed.

Absolutely. That's often the primary point of certain weapons that contribute little beyond the keyword. Blast is probably the most all around useful one.

best i can find for an answer is under Keywords on pg31, topright corner

"Each weapon keyword adds an ability to the attack pool in which it is included"

Since the pool has mixed weapon dice, they do share.

That...is really weird...not sure how i like that rule.

Can't your attack pool only use the same type of weapon? I thought you had to make a separate attack with each different weapon. For example, the z-6 would be rolled separate.

Edited by Nyxen

Every weapon on every model is an individual weapon with its own attack pool and keywords.

Once the attack pool is gathered, it's one big mass, so the short answer is "yes".

Four troopers with the Impact Grenade upgrade, all using Impact Grenades with one Z-6 Trooper using his blaster would roll a pool of B4W6 with Impact 4 for the whole attack. Of course, you had to be at Range 1, or the grenades won't contribute anything.

9 minutes ago, Nyxen said:

Can't your attack pool only use the same type of weapon? I thought you had to make a separate attack with each different weapon. For example, the z-6 would be rolled separate.

b. Choose Weapons: The attacker can choose one weapon from each eligible mini to contribute to the attack pool. To choose a weapon, the attacker must meet all requirements indicated by that weapon’s keywords, and that weapon’s range must include the range of the attack, as determined from the attacker’s unit leader to the closest mini of the defender.

c. Gather Dice: For each eligible mini that chose a weapon, the attacker gathers the number and type of dice depicted on that weapon and places them on the battlefield near the defender.

3. Declare Additional Defender: If there are any weapons remaining that have not been added to the attack pool, the player may repeat steps 1–2, forming a separate attack pool with the new weapons.

» An attack pool can consist of dice from different weapons, but all weapons with an identical name must contribute their dice to the same attack pool.

That is to say, IF you are using different weapons, you can split fire, but you can't split fire with the same type of weapon. Multiple weapon types can form the same attack pool.

The attack pool can be mixed weapons, it just cant be divided with the same weapon (i.e. all E-11's in a stormtrooper unit must hit the same target, but the rocket launcher can either be added to the same pool as the E-11's or fire at something else)

edit: :ph34r: dang it tvayumat...lol

Edited by Vineheart01

For those of us familiar with suppression based wargames (BtGoA, MEdge, etc.) one might note that splitting fire with special weapons effectively doubles the amount of suppression a unit can put out in a single action.

Doesn't help us Rebels much with Vader's obscene "Lolnosuppress" field, but anything outside of that? Is good. Is very good.

6 hours ago, Tvayumat said:


Doesn't help us Rebels much with Vader's obscene "Lolnosuppress" field, but anything outside of that? Is good. Is very good.

Vader doesn't stop Suppression, just Panic. You only use the Commander Courage value for Panic.

25 minutes ago, Caimheul1313 said:

Vader doesn't stop Suppression, just Panic. You only use the Commander Courage value for Panic.

Thanks for pointing this out. I think we've been doing it wrong.

1 minute ago, Tvayumat said:

Thanks for pointing this out. I think we've been doing it wrong.

Easy mistake to make. I know I'm going to fight the urge to always use it since that's how some other wargames work.