Legion Rules Clarifications FAQ

By Imperial Advisor Arem Heshvaun, in Star Wars: Legion

Nope, under "Courage" it states:

A trooper unit without a courage value cannot be assigned a suppression token. As such, that unit cannot become suppressed or panicked

So Vader technically has no courage.....uh....so hes a pansy? Poor wording FFG to describe a "-" is immune to it lol

1 minute ago, Vineheart01 said:

Nope, under "Courage" it states:

A trooper unit without a courage value cannot be assigned a suppression token. As such, that unit cannot become suppressed or panicked

So Vader technically has no courage.....uh....so hes a pansy? Poor wording FFG to describe a "-" is immune to it lol

They can't exactly fit a courage value of 9001 on a card can they?

Infinity symbol :)

Courage: **** You.

EDIT: I personally interpreted the - as "N/A"

Edited by UnitOmega

I kinda hope when they add Palp he actually does have a Courage value, but his ability basically inverts the effect: since after all he feinted quite a few times to lower his adversery's guard. Vader has never done that.

So Suppressing Palp would be possible, but would be actually a very bad thing lol. Hope thats a thing.

2 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

I kinda hope when they add Palp he actually does have a Courage value, but his ability basically inverts the effect: since after all he feinted quite a few times to lower his adversery's guard. Vader has never done that.

So Suppressing Palp would be possible, but would be actually a very bad thing lol. Hope thats a thing.

Give him 1 courage.

If you exceed Palpatine's suppression value, he adds 2 suppression to all enemy units within range 4 of him.

If you shoot at Ol' Palpy, He get mad.

6 minutes ago, Indy_com said:

Give him 1 courage.

If you exceed Palpatine's suppression value, he adds 2 suppression to all enemy units within range 4 of him.

If you shoot at Ol' Palpy, He get mad.

That would be a cool and thematic mechanic but I hope we don't see a Palpatine. This is a battlefield wargame, it would be like having King George VI out there in his royal clothes at D-Day. I know I'm probably outnumbered and we'll probably see one like we did in IA, but it still seems a bit silly to me.

Edited by Big Easy

Eh the sheer fact that hes another character and a well known one he'll get in.

If he got in xwing, he'll get in legion.

2 hours ago, UnitOmega said:

The intent is clearly they stack but I don't think the RRG actually says that yet.

It does say it in the LTP on page 15.

WEAPON KEYWORDS

Some weapons have keywords, which are displayed at the bottom of the unit’s card and described on the back. Each weapon keyword modifies any attacks made that include that weapon. Weapon keywords are cumulative; when performing an attack that includes two weapons that have the impact 1 keyword, these two keywords combine to add up to impact 2.

I apologize if I missed this question glossing over this thread, but when can you issue a standby token? I only saw a brief description of what a standby token allows, not when/how to use it.

Thanks.

1 minute ago, RaRarlo said:

I apologize if I missed this question glossing over this thread, but when can you issue a standby token? I only saw a brief description of what a standby token allows, not when/how to use it.

Thanks.

Its an action. If a trooper has not attacked and has 1 more action to use, they can go into standby (or in xcom terms, overwatch).
So if you have a unit in a spot that they cant shoot right now, but are in a great chokepoint position, aim + standby for your actions.

Note: its an extended rule, so if you are only looking at the Learn To Play book you probably wont see it.

Quick Question.

We experienced this situation today while playing.

Basically my one friend had 3 squads in a row, rank and file British style, and my other friend maneuvered Luke to where he was in base to base with 2 squads at once.

Now clearly it says you can only start one melee at once, but with Luke's ability he was wondering if after his first attacks, can he use his ability to use his second attack on the second unit. Would that start a second melee? Or is there something that states it can only be used on the same squad, and/or one melee can only happen ever.ll

1 hour ago, Papa Palpatine said:

Quick Question.

We experienced this situation today while playing.

Basically my one friend had 3 squads in a row, rank and file British style, and my other friend maneuvered Luke to where he was in base to base with 2 squads at once.

Now clearly it says you can only start one melee at once, but with Luke's ability he was wondering if after his first attacks, can he use his ability to use his second attack on the second unit. Would that start a second melee? Or is there something that states it can only be used on the same squad, and/or one melee can only happen ever.ll

RR p. 32 - You cannot move a unit such that it would be in base contact with multiple enemy units effectively starting a melee.

Can Luke use his deflect ability vs. Vader saber throw or vice versa? Came up in game today. We figured that since it is a ranged attack then technically yes but perhaps a bit awkward? Thx

39 minutes ago, veiv said:

Can Luke use his deflect ability vs. Vader saber throw or vice versa? Came up in game today. We figured that since it is a ranged attack then technically yes but perhaps a bit awkward? Thx

I haven't seen anything to indicate otherwise.

Not awkward at all. Saber Throw says "perform a ranged attack". Deflect says "if it’s a ranged attack, the attacker suffers 1 wound for each Surge rolled".

So a discussion happened in a game due to wording on a card.

The ion gun for rebele troopers. Hit a unit of speeder bikes. It did enough damahe to kill 1. So ion token

The guy really argued that because the model that was damaged died he shouldn't get the job token.

25 minutes ago, starrius said:

So a discussion happened in a game due to wording on a card.

The ion gun for rebele troopers. Hit a unit of speeder bikes. It did enough damahe to kill 1. So ion token

The guy really argued that because the model that was damaged died he shouldn't get the job token.

Your friend was wrong. The wording for ion says "a vehicle" not "a vehicle mini". That means if the unit is wounded then the unit gets an ion token.

42 minutes ago, Orcdruid said:

Your friend was wrong. The wording for ion says "a vehicle" not "a vehicle mini". That means if the unit is wounded then the unit gets an ion token.

Yeah I tried to say it' all one unit even using runewars to so basically every unit is basically 1 model and multiple models make up its wound tracker

I’m not sure where this is covered. But Luke goes to melee with a speeder bike which is not a trooper but a unit. After he goes to melee with the speeder bike, do I have to move the 2nd speeder bike in. Contact with like as well? Luke could only get bases to base with 1 bike and did 6 damage, does he kill the unit or just the 1bike? I,know speeder bikes don’t engage but melee rules are different

thanks.

34 minutes ago, BGG said:

I’m not sure where this is covered. But Luke goes to melee with a speeder bike which is not a trooper but a unit. After he goes to melee with the speeder bike, do I have to move the 2nd speeder bike in. Contact with like as well? Luke could only get bases to base with 1 bike and did 6 damage, does he kill the unit or just the 1bike? I,know speeder bikes don’t engage but melee rules are different

thanks.

Vehicles cannot enter engagement, so you would not move vehicles into base contact. And if you deal 6 damage, both bikes would die. Seems a little wonky, but those are the rules.

PG 32

Minis that are not in base contact with an enemy mini can still contribute to a melee attack if the unit to which that mini belongs is in a melee.

Whenever there are minis that are not in base contact with an enemy mini but those minis have a melee weapon and the unit to which they belong is in a melee, those minis must be placed in base contact with an enemy mini in the same melee as their unit if possible. This can happen when minis in a melee suffer wounds and are defeated, creating space for other minis that were not previously in base contact to be place in base contact. If both players own minis that are not in base contact with an enemy mini and should be, the player that is currently activating a unit or has most recently activated a unit (even if that unit is not the unit with minis that should be placed in base contact with enemy minis) should move their minis into base contact with enemy minis before the other player does so. If neither play has activated a unit yet this round, the blue player should move their minis first.

Pg 45

Vehicles can be in a melee but cannot be engaged.

So if Luke deals 5 damage against 2 bikes, 1 of the bikes is destroyed and the other suffers 2 damage. If the bike Luke is in contact with is not the leader, it is destroyed. Because a vehicle can be in a melee, I believe Luke would be placed next to the leader bike in base contact.

about the only way for luke vs speeders to get sorta shafted is if he uses his card to attack twice, engages the non-leader model and kills it - no longer base contact since speeders dont pile in for engagements so his second attack got wasted lol.

6 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

about the only way for luke vs speeders to get sorta shafted is if he uses his card to attack twice, engages the non-leader model and kills it - no longer base contact since speeders dont pile in for engagements so his second attack got wasted lol.

Luke has a ranged attack standard though.

5 minutes ago, Tvayumat said:

Luke has a ranged attack standard though.

True, im thinking of his charge ability which does specify melee, the command card does not.

2 hours ago, Vineheart01 said:

True, im thinking of his charge ability which does specify melee, the command card does not.

What you described is luke using his charge for the first attack though right? Or am I reading that wrong?