This problem came up in a game today. When an assist unit is attacked by a front-line unit, it says explicitly that a combat card is drawn, and the small values are used. Despite looking through all the forums posts here, I didn't see any official clarification which says that only the defensive value is used. As such we played that the both values of the card are used.
Is there any official clarification on this? Can assist units destroy FLU's if they get lucky?
If so, is it then possible to attack with an assist unit?
(The funny story this ended up with: I had an archon and two high templars trying to hold a CP from zerg. When attacked by a Guardian and Zergling, my archon was killed by the guardian, but my second high templar fought the zergling and drew a 6/5 Increased Reaver Capacity card, and killed the zergling. After withdrawing, as per assist unit rules, I attacked the guardian - just for kicks, being the final turn of the game - with my two HT's. Drew a SECOND 6/5 Reaver Capacity card, and used psionic storm, with special mobilize - destroying guardian. Very funny, unsure if possible, and thankfully didn't affect game outcome)