Assault Proton Torpedoes???

By rebeleagle, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So I am relatively new to Armada and only have a few questions about certain cards. The first one I want to ask about is as the title says Assault Proton Torpedoes. It says "Black Crit: Deal 1 faceup damage card to the defender." I am asking is that for each black crit or what? Let us say I have a MC30c Torpedo Frigate and some of the role I have listed below, how many crits do I cause? Please explain or point out a resource to clarify the rule please and make a list answering the examples below. Thank You

1. 1 Blue Crit, 2 Black Crits

2. 2 Blue Crits, 1 Black Crits

3. 1 Blue Crit, 3 Black Crits

On 17.3.2018 at 11:32 PM, rebeleagle said:

So I am relatively new to Armada and only have a few questions about certain cards. The first one I want to ask about is as the title says Assault Proton Torpedoes. It says "Black Crit: Deal 1 faceup damage card to the defender." I am asking is that for each black crit or what? Let us say I have a MC30c Torpedo Frigate and some of the role I have listed below, how many crits do I cause? Please explain or point out a resource to clarify the rule please and make a list answering the examples below. Thank You

1. 1 Blue Crit, 2 Black Crits

2. 2 Blue Crits, 1 Black Crits

3. 1 Blue Crit, 3 Black Crits

For all attacks and all cases its the same. If you roll at least one crit, you can resolve one crit effect (and only one, no matter how many cards with "Crit:" you have or how many crits you rolled) (wibbly wobbly Fire-Control Team...).

1.) you are doing 5 damage and can resolve one crit effect. Either the standard/generic, a blue or a black.

2.) you are doing 4 damage and can resolve one crit effect. Either the standard/generic, a blue or a black.

3.) you are doing 7 damage and can resolve one crit effect. Either the standard/generic, a blue or a black.

More important would be the question:

4.) 2 Blue crits, 0 Black crits. In this case you are doing 2 damage and can resolve a standard/generic crit or a blue crit. But you cannot resolve the APT, because you are missing the black crit.

Also worth noting, Crit ≠ Face-up Damage Card. If you roll the 'crit' face on any die, you may employ it to cause one effect after defense tokens are spent but before normal damage is applied. It also deals one normal damage whether you use it to invoke an effect or not.

Your attack resolution steps are handy here.

Other notes on crits (from the FAQ pinned on the rules board):

  • You can only resolve ONE critical effect per attack! (regardless of how many crits you roll, unless you have an upgrade or ability that specifically allows you to resolve additional critical effects such as Fire Control Teams)
  • Only ships can suffer critical hits, and only ships and Bomber squadrons can deal critical effects.
  • The critical icons on the attack dice count as damage and will additionally deal ONE critical effect (and only one). The critical effect is in ADDITION to the damage (i.e. the crit die remains in the attack pool unless otherwise specified) and the effect occurs at the start of the resolve damage step (i.e. after accuracy and defense tokens have been resolved). e.g. if you roll 2 hits and 2 crits, you deal 4 damage and can resolve 1 crit effect.
  • All ships and Bombers have a default critical effect that allows them to deal the first damage card face-up (if all damage is soaked by shields then no damage cards are dealt). Some upgrades provide additional critical effects, one of these can be used INSTEAD of the default effect if you roll at least 1 crit icon.
  • Damage that is suffered from critical effects does not count towards the "First 'x' damage cards face-up".
  • Squadrons : Ignore the crit icon when attacking with squadrons unless they are attacking ships and have the Bomber ability. Squadrons with Bomber have the standard critical effect available to them (first damage card is dealt face-up).
12 hours ago, Tokra said:

For all attacks and all cases its the same. If you roll at least one crit, you can resolve one crit effect (and only one, no matter how many cards with "Crit:" you have or how many crits you rolled) (wibbly wobbly Fire-Control Team...).

1.) you are doing 5 damage and can resolve one crit effect. Either the standard/generic, a blue or a black.

2.) you are doing 4 damage and can resolve one crit effect. Either the standard/generic, a blue or a black.

3.) you are doing 7 damage and can resolve one crit effect. Either the standard/generic, a blue or a black.

More important would be the question:

4.) 2 Blue crits, 0 Black crits. In this case you are doing 2 damage and can resolve a standard/generic crit or a blue crit. But you cannot resolve the APT, because you are missing the black crit.

Thank you.

On 3/19/2018 at 10:42 AM, OlaphOfTheNorth said:

The critical icons on the attack dice count as damage

Importantly, this also applies only to ships and BOMBERs. Starfighters do no damage on a CRIT icon.

If you use APT on a target with 1 shield and you roll 2 damage and a crit do you -

a) deal 1 crit and 2 face down or ...

b) deal 1 crit and 1 face down ?????

APT crit deals one additional damage...face up, as soon as you trigger it.

So if they have 1 shield, they get 1 face up, 2 face down.

Forgot a crit icon is 1 damage doh!

Edited by TheEasternKing

2 damage and a Crit means 3 in total, which leads to 2 face down cards plus the additional from apt.

1 hour ago, Vetnor said:

If you use APT on a target with 1 shield and you roll 2 damage and a crit do you -

a) deal 1 crit and 2 face down or ...

b) deal 1 crit and 1 face down ?????

When a ships shoots at a ship: total damage is = number of hit icons + crit icons.

That's the number of damage you deal to the target, 1 at a time, starting with shields and then hull.

On top of this you can trigger a crit, if you have 1+ such icons (of the right color).

Triggering a crit doesn't affect the total damage at all.

Now, the APT crit is kind of special, in that when it tirggers you immediately pull 1 faceup damage card and resolve it.

THEN you inflict damage normally.