Can Vader Reroll attacks when at Speed 0?

By Mad Cat, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So last night Paragon and a VSD with Vader (commander) on board got into a close range slugging and ramming match.

Paragons first shot does a face up card to the VSD reducing its speed from 1 to 0. Its second shot now couldn't be braced as the VSD can't spend defence tokens (speed 0).

VSD then activates with its front arc - shooting poorly. Can it use the Vader commanders ability to reroll dice and spend a defence token even though the ship is speed 0?

We allowed it....

13 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

So last night Paragon and a VSD with Vader (commander) on board got into a close range slugging and ramming match.

Paragons first shot does a face up card to the VSD reducing its speed from 1 to 0. Its second shot now couldn't be braced as the VSD can't spend defence tokens (speed 0).

VSD then activates with its front arc - shooting poorly. Can it use the Vader commanders ability to reroll dice and spend a defence token even though the ship is speed 0?

We allowed it....

Yes.

The Defense tokens may not be spent to the usual effect (in the spend def token step), but can still be spent to satisfy Vader (he has no speed requirement).

12 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

So last night Paragon and a VSD with Vader (commander) on board got into a close range slugging and ramming match.

Paragons first shot does a face up card to the VSD reducing its speed from 1 to 0. Its second shot now couldn't be braced as the VSD can't spend defence tokens (speed 0).

VSD then activates with its front arc - shooting poorly. Can it use the Vader commanders ability to reroll dice and spend a defence token even though the ship is speed 0?

We allowed it....

The ship can spend them.

  • If the defender’s speed is “0,” it cannot spend defense tokens.

Only the defender is not allowed to spend tokens at speed 0. The attacker (in this case Vader) can do whatever he want with the tokens. This count as well for Turbolaser reroute circuits.