I've recently become aware of different interpretations on how the
Pursuant
-title and Flight Commander interact and figuring out that interaction might tell us something about commands in general and Flight Commander specifically.
The subject has come up - briefly - on the forums before
here
, but that is about all I could find.
The main question is whether Flight Commander merely shifts the effect (resolving) of the squadron command or whether it also shifts the trigger . The Rule Reference isn't particularly helpful in that regard, as there doesn't seem to be much of a distinction between the spending (trigger) and resolving aspects of a command.
RULES REFERENCE p.3
:
Command Dials
"[...]
can be spent at the appropriate time to resolve that command.
"
Command tokens " Command tokens can be spent at the appropriate time to resolve the lesser effect of that command. "
Commands
"
A ship can resolve the effect of a command by spending a command dial or command token with the matching icon at the appropriate time
" and "
Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s command dial
".
Basically, spending and resolving are either intrinsically linked - and cannot be separated - or they aren't and can happen at two different times so that it is triggered at one point (by spending) and resolved at another.
If they are linked
, it would mean that you spend the dial and/or token at the time when you resolve the command and that you resolve the effect the moment you paid the price (spending the dial/token); for FC that would mean after step 3 (execute maneuver) of the ship's activation. It also means that you cannot use FC the round you discarded the Pursuant-title, as its trigger is 'locked in' at a different timing window.
If they are not linked
, it would mean that you always spend the dial and/or token at a specific time (after having revealed the dial and having chosen whether to spend the dial for a token), only to resolve it later. This would allow for postponing the resolution of a squadron command from Pursuant if also having FC. It would also mean that squadron commands
always
have to be declared at the same time (after revealing the ship's dial), regardless of whether you resolve it immediately or postpone it with FC, and that you have missed your opportunity to resolve a squadron command with FC if you didn't declare it before attacking and executing your maneuvre. In other words, if you get to the moment you would resolve the effect, it would have been too late to declare it.
Thoughts? How do you play it?