Ready Action and "perform" clarification

By Nicholas_Freeman, in Star Wars: Legion

rules as written on stand by tokens they seem very weak or corner case.

I believe we need clarification on what the word "perform" means in terms of movement or the wording on stand my token needs to be changed from "perform" to "completes".

as written you would not get your ready action if a unit moved from outside to within range 1-2 of you because they performed the action outside of range 1-2 ... also in this case you lose the ready token if you gain a suppression token , and you perform your ready action after the enemy unit has completed their action that triggers ready, so the following scenario happens; you take a ready action, the enemy take their movement action beyond range 2 (not triggering ready) and ending within range 2, they then take an attack action which triggers ready, but their attack deals a suppression token stripping the ready token and thus denying you your ready action.

is this working as intended or is there already a clause that clarifies "perform" in terms of movement or does there need to be errata?

Check the comma, and meaning again. The rule:

Quote

"After an enemy unit attacks, moves, or performs an action, if that unit is at range 1–2 and in line of sight of a trooper unit with a standby token, that trooper unit may spend that standby token to perform a free attack action or a free move action."

is pretty clear to me. If after the enemy unit moves it is in range 1-2 and LOS, you can spend your standby token. If after the enemy unit attacks it is in range 1-2 and LOS you can spend your standby, if after the enemy unit performs any other action, meaning as the Aim, Dodge, Standby, Recover, or some card action, it is in range 1-2 and in LOS, you can spend the standby.

Doesn't need an errata imo. You do the standby criteria check after the enemy unit has performed the action.

If the rules said Before, I would agree with you.

After it performs...

IMO its pretty clear the standby 'activates' after the enemy complete whatever they do (attack/move or something else).

12 hours ago, MAstaKFC said:

Doesn't need an errata imo. You do the standby criteria check after the enemy unit has performed the action.

If the rules said Before, I would agree with you.

The after is timing on the standby action, it isn't clear that this applies to the trigger.

10 minutes ago, Amanal said:

The after is timing on the standby action, it isn't clear that this applies to the trigger.

The trigger isn't checked until after the action is performed. The list is all of the things an enemy unit can do that could lead to triggering Standby. An enemy unit does a thing, is it in Range 1-2 after that action? Yes, then you can trigger.