Attachment character monks + high kick

By Edweird, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

A couple local dragon players have been asking me for a clear ruling on if Kazue or Wanderer while attached lose the character keyword. And if they do notlose the character type, could you bow them to pay the costs for High Kick.

Thanks, just a humble lion player/community guy.

Ed

From the "Cardtypes" section in the Reference:

Quote

If an ability causes a card to change its cardtype, the card loses all other cardtypes it might possess and functions as would any card of the new cardtype.

11 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

From the "Cardtypes" section in the Reference:

But it doesn’t lose its Trait, does it?

I mean, sure the card stops being a Conflict character in the case of the Wanderer, but does it stop ‘being’ a Monk?

For some reason I thought that the card (such as in this example) continues to be regarded as a Monk, but it is simply an Attachment from there on in.

At the very least, it is no longer considered a character for High Kick. I would assume it retains the monk trait, though.

2 minutes ago, AradonTemplar said:

At the very least, it is no longer considered a character for High Kick. I would assume it retains the monk trait, though.

Correct, I agree here.

I just can’t see how it would “stop being a Monk” sorta thing. Am possibly not explaining it correctly.

EDIT: If it retains its Monk trait, then it certainly isn’t a character anymore, and thus you can’t Bow it to use High Kick.... I think that is what the OP was asking. ?

Edited by LordBlunt

Yeah, the traits stay, because nothing says otherwise.