I know it says that once fortune on the party sheet reaches the number in the party it refreshes...does that mean it starts at zero?
HELP!
I know it says that once fortune on the party sheet reaches the number in the party it refreshes...does that mean it starts at zero?
HELP!
I don't have my rulebook in front of me to reference a page number, but it means that each PC who has fewer than his maximum number of Fortune points is allowed to take one of the Fortune counters from the party sheet and add it to his character sheet.
Example:
There are 3 PCs, and the Party Sheet has 2 Fortune Counters. PC 1 and PC 2 are each down by two Fortune Counters each, while PC 3 still has all of his. The GM places another Fortune Counter on the Party Sheet, which causes a Fortune Refresh. At this time, PC 1 and PC 2 are each allowed to take one (and only one) counter from the Party Sheet and place it on his personal Fortune Counter area. That leaves one Fortune Counter on the party sheet, meaning another refresh will happen more quickly next time.
If anyone wants to correct me, feel free; I've only had the rulebook for two days and I don't have it to reference at the moment.
You've pretty much got it. PC3 would take the FP if he had a way to spend it immediately, such as to remove a recharge counter from an action card. If he doesn't, then the FP stays on the Party Sheet reducing the number required to trigger the next refresh, as you've stated.
The way I interpret it is this:
The players gain fortune into the party sheet pool for good roleplay, etc...If a players character has less than his 3 Fortune Dice then the player with the lowest ammount may take a Fortune die from the sheet to use for whatever....
If no one takes them and they accumulate enough FD to equal the number of characters in the party then fortune refreshes and all the players get their original 3 FD back and I remove the points from the sheet and we start again
My group seemed to like this idea a lot
limelight said:
The way I interpret it is this:
The players gain fortune into the party sheet pool for good roleplay, etc...If a players character has less than his 3 Fortune Dice then the player with the lowest ammount may take a Fortune die from the sheet to use for whatever....
If no one takes them and they accumulate enough FD to equal the number of characters in the party then fortune refreshes and all the players get their original 3 FD back and I remove the points from the sheet and we start again
My group seemed to like this idea a lot
Just to clarify, is this the way you read the rule as written, or is this just a house rule you've applied? Because the rules as they're written don't come across this way to me at all.
Darrett said:
limelight said:
The way I interpret it is this:
The players gain fortune into the party sheet pool for good roleplay, etc...If a players character has less than his 3 Fortune Dice then the player with the lowest ammount may take a Fortune die from the sheet to use for whatever....
If no one takes them and they accumulate enough FD to equal the number of characters in the party then fortune refreshes and all the players get their original 3 FD back and I remove the points from the sheet and we start again
My group seemed to like this idea a lot
Just to clarify, is this the way you read the rule as written, or is this just a house rule you've applied? Because the rules as they're written don't come across this way to me at all.
It's obviously a house rule. There is nothing in the rules that allows anyone to take or spend a FP when it is awarded, let alone a specific player (the one with the fewest FP at the time the award is made). Only when FPs on the Party Sheet = # of PCs does fortune refresh and players have the opportunity to take an FP.
mac40k said:
Darrett said:
limelight said:
The way I interpret it is this:
The players gain fortune into the party sheet pool for good roleplay, etc...If a players character has less than his 3 Fortune Dice then the player with the lowest ammount may take a Fortune die from the sheet to use for whatever....
If no one takes them and they accumulate enough FD to equal the number of characters in the party then fortune refreshes and all the players get their original 3 FD back and I remove the points from the sheet and we start again
My group seemed to like this idea a lot
Just to clarify, is this the way you read the rule as written, or is this just a house rule you've applied? Because the rules as they're written don't come across this way to me at all.
It's obviously a house rule. There is nothing in the rules that allows anyone to take or spend a FP when it is awarded, let alone a specific player (the one with the fewest FP at the time the award is made). Only when FPs on the Party Sheet = # of PCs does fortune refresh and players have the opportunity to take an FP.
That's what I assumed, but he said "The way I interpret it is this:" which didn't really imply a house rule. Just a quibble over the wording.