Do cards "forget"

By Tsuruchi Hikari, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Hello there,

I was wondering if cards "forget" that they have been used when they go to the discard pile?

For instance, let's say I use a Miya Mystic to destroy an attachement. If I use Kitsu Spiritcaller on the Mystic in the very same conflict, can the Miya use his ability again?

Thanks!

Kitsu Spiritcaller :

Action: During a conflict, bow this character. Choose a character in one of your discard piles – put that character into play in the conflict. If that character is still in play at the end of the conflict, return it to the bottom of its deck.

Miya Mystic :

Action: During the conflict phase, sacrifice this character. Choose an attachment – discard that attachment.

Yes, when a card changes zones it effectively becomes a different copy of that card so its abilities are able to be used again.

Edited by GoblinGuide

Just for the record, this is specified in the Rules Reference, under the “Limit X per [period]” section:

If a card leaves play and re-enters play during the same period, it is considered a new instance of the card and there is no memory of having used the ability during the specified period. (This rule also applies to any ability with no specified limit.)

Nothing like the look on someone's face when you Charge in Altansarnai, break a province kill one of their guys, go to a second conflict, Stoic Gunso and sac your bowed Altansarnai, Captive Audience, Cavalry Reserves Altansarnai back, get a second break and another kill......

"You deserve to win for pulling that off."

- Nameless Lion player

5 hours ago, Ishi Tonu said:

"You deserve to win for pulling that off."

- Nameless Lion player

“And yet, I didn’t win”

-Every Unicorn player

27 minutes ago, Tabris2k said:

“And yet, I didn’t win”

-Every Unicorn player

Generally.....but I did win that one.