What happens to certain Surges when Attack is a Miss (X)

By topacesteve, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello, what if the following figures attack me and i roll a Miss, do they get to accomplish these Surges?

They do not refer to conditions :

1. Leia's Military Efficiency or Recover 2 hits

2. Agent Blaise's Interrogate

3. Command Card Targeting Network

Also eJawa's Bargain

Blast , Cleave , and Condition keywords and only Blast, Cleave, and Condition keywords require that the target suffers damage during step 7 of the attack. Also note the difference between the condition keywords ( Focus , Hide , Weaken , Stun , Bleed ) and the conditions themselves ( focused , hidden , weakened , stunned , bleeding ).

Other surge abilities need to define requirements separately. Unless there is explicit timing, the ability is performed as soon as the surge is spent. Recover damage is defined to happen after-attack-resolves.

See Ability Resolution Order During Attacks for the long version.

So all the above are legit even if the attack misses...

4 hours ago, topacesteve said:

So all the above are legit even if the attack misses...

Just a heads up, there's a minor difference between "attack miss" vs. "rolled X on the white die" (dodge)

Your opponent rolling X does NOT mean the attack missed. It matters for abilities like rJawa's Harass or Drokkatta's Shrapnel

A missed attack means the attacker didn't roll enough accuracy, or command card shenanigans like On the Lam

1 hour ago, ricope said:

Your opponent rolling X does NOT mean the attack missed.

Yes, it does. An (uncancelled) dodge makes an attack miss . Not achieving the required accuracy also makes an attack miss . A miss makes the target suffer 0 damage from the attack.

Some abilities use "not miss", which is a more lenient condition than "target suffering damage", because blocking all damage does not make an attack miss . You only need to achieve the required accuracy and have no uncancelled dodges for an attack to "not miss".

RRG, Miss said:

Some effects can cause attacks to miss. When an attack misses, the
target figure suffers zero H (damage).

· The E (dodge) icon found on the white die causes the attack
to miss.

· While performing a ranged attack, the attacker requires
Accuracy greater than or equal to the distance to the target.
If his Accuracy is less than this distance, then the attack
misses.

· When an attack misses, other effects can still be triggered
(such as using the Recover keyword). If the ability requires the
target figure to suffer one or more H , such as Cleave, a miss
prevents that ability from being resolved.

Edited by a1bert