Misdirection Agenda Card + Stun

By udat, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi all,

What happens if the Misdirection agenda card is played on a group that contains a stunned figure? Does it work?

Misdirection: Play at the start of an Imperial group's activation. Place all figures on the map from that group as close as possible to a single active deployment point.

Stun: While stunned, figures cannot voluntarily leave their space.

Does the "place" from misdirection count as a voluntary move?

What's certain is that other figures of the group are placed as close to a single active deployment point as possible.

Stunned : You cannot ... voluntarily exit your space.

When being placed, because the figure is on the map already, it needs to be removed first, so it would exit the space.

"You cannot" and "voluntarily" seems to be limiting Stunned to abilities of the figure. A figure can be pushed (Massive ending movement on top, Mandalorian Whip, Force Throw, Ram) while stunned because those are not that figure's abilities and are thus not voluntary. A figure cannot move by spending movement points or move X spaces. (Move, Order, Command allows the figure to perform a move, and spending movement points would be the ability of the stunned figure. Forward Vengeance is the ability of the figure.)

Misdirection is the imperial player's ability, not the figure's, so I would think it is not voluntarily exiting your space. You might want a second opinion though. The stunned condition (and all other tokens like damage) would still remain, because the figure is placed and not put into play.

Yeah, I assumed it would work fine on any non-stunned figures. It's what happens to the stunned figure I am interested in.

The question is actually specific to the mission rules regarding

Agent Blaise

in

Hostile Takeover

which are similar to stun.

If Misdirection was allowed, it would basically break the mission entirely, so we decided it shouldn't be used, but was curious if it could be used.

On 3/2/2018 at 5:19 AM, udat said:

If Misdirection was allowed, it would basically break the mission entirely, so we decided it shouldn't be used, but was curious if it could be used.

I wouldn't base the ruling of this card on whether it breaks a specific mission. I would guess that this card could break a number of missions depending on when it is played and the size of the map.

On 3/2/2018 at 3:47 AM, a1bert said:

Misdirection is the imperial player's ability, not the figure's, so I would think it is not voluntarily exiting your space. You might want a second opinion though. The stunned condition (and all other tokens like damage) would still remain, because the figure is placed and not put into play.

Based on the reading of the text on the card, I would be inclined to agree with @a1bert . Removing a figure from the map seems different than voluntarily exiting your space.

From the RRG "Place": When a figure on the map is placed, it is removed from its current space and then placed where indicated.

Since the wording isn't entirely clear, it might be worth just asking FFG for a clarification.

I got a reply from FFG. Not sure about the rules on quoting such things, but we played it correctly by not allowing Misdirection.

Could you quote the answer for prosperity?

I assume it says that being Pushed is the only involuntary way to exit your space, so Misdirection is voluntary.

Sure. Todd said:

Quote

Placing a figure (that is on the map) in another space should be considered a version of “voluntary movement.” This interaction is not well covered in the rules, and I’ve added it to my list of topics for the future FAQ.