Launch weekend and RR

By OldSchoolEmpire, in Star Wars: Legion

Wow rules reference is pretty thick. and the impact grenade debate is over, it doesn't stack for every trooper.

I’m not trying to argue, but what page do you see that on? Because from what I read in the R.R. I am starting to lean in the other direction

In fact, going through it I believe that people who said they stacked were right and I was wrong.

From page 30

Quote

If a unit performs an attack using multiple weapons that have the impact x keyword and those weapons contribute dice to the same attack pool, the x values of each impact x keyword are cumulative.

For example, a unit that performs an attack using both a weapon that has impact 1 and a weapon that has impact 2 contribute dice to the attack pool, that attack is treated as using a weapon that has impact 3 which allows that unit to change up to three hit (?) results to critical (?) results.

It doesn't spell it outright (unfortunately, because people will still disagree) but my interpretation is it doesn't stack. Impact Grenades has the Impact 1 keyword. If you choose to use Impact Grenades with 3 trooper minis, it contributes 3 dice to the attack pool, along with the Impact 1 keyword.

Edited by ShadowKite
improved formatting

Yeah, but if you go further and read the weapon entry it seems clear to me they do stack

Each Grenade is considered a separate impact 1 weapon.

So speeders should do impact 2 as well.

1 minute ago, DelGriffen said:

Each Grenade is considered a separate impact 1 weapon.

No, I still disagree. The weapon is attached to the unit. Each mini in the unit can choose to use 1 of the units weapons. See page 46:

Quote

Grenade and hardpoint upgrades add another weapon option to a unit. Grenade and hardpoint upgrade cards include the ranges, attack dice, keywords, and other rules specific to the weapon that the upgrade card grants to the unit.

» While attacking, each mini in a unit that is equipped with a grenade or hardpoint upgrade may use that weapon instead of another weapon on their unit card or equipped upgrade card.

It doesn't say "grenade upgrades add up to 6 separate weapons" but rather it adds "another weapon to a unit."

They need to faq this impact thing cuz I’m still seeing both interpretations here as valid.

9 minutes ago, ShadowKite said:

No, I still disagree. The weapon is attached to the unit. Each mini in the unit can choose to use 1 of the units weapons. See page 46:

It doesn't say "grenade upgrades add up to 6 separate weapons" but rather it adds "another weapon to a unit."

Under Attack on page 14. "Choose Weapons: The attacker can choose one weapon
from each eligible mini to contribute to the attack
pool. To choose a weapon, the attacker must meet all
requirements indicated by that weapon’s keywords, and
that weapon’s range must include the range of the attack,
as determined from the attacker’s unit leader to the
closest mini of the defender."

The first sentence sugests that the weapons are attached to the mini's themselves. But you are right everywhere else weapons are refered to as "the units" now I'm just confused. FFG, you done goofed.

@Orcdruid that and the fact that they changed the Imapct X example to an Impact 1 and Impact 2 weapon just muddled things further

2 minutes ago, Orcdruid said:

Under Attack on page 14. "Choose Weapons: The attacker can choose one weapon
from each eligible mini to contribute to the attack
pool. To choose a weapon, the attacker must meet all
requirements indicated by that weapon’s keywords, and
that weapon’s range must include the range of the attack,
as determined from the attacker’s unit leader to the
closest mini of the defender."

The first sentence sugests that the weapons are attached to the mini's themselves. But you are right everywhere else weapons are refered to as "the units" now I'm just confused. FFG, you done goofed.

You've got a point there. To be fair, writing a 50 page document that is entirely self-consistent isn't the easiest thing to do. Hopefully this gets cleared up soon with a revision or FAQ.

Between the weapon and upgrades section. It looks like to me a grenade is a weapons upgrade card, the weapon has upgrade 1, each soldier in the unit can choose this weapon and it’s culmulative.

1 minute ago, Orcdruid said:

Under Attack on page 14. "Choose Weapons: The attacker can choose one weapon
from each eligible mini to contribute to the attack
pool. To choose a weapon, the attacker must meet all
requirements indicated by that weapon’s keywords, and
that weapon’s range must include the range of the attack,
as determined from the attacker’s unit leader to the
closest mini of the defender."

The first sentence sugests that the weapons are attached to the mini's themselves. But you are right everywhere else weapons are refered to as "the units" now I'm just confused. FFG, you done goofed.

I agree here, they used some inconsistent and confusing wording across the document to reference this relationship.

I believe the key is in the attack sequence though.

Step 2b says pick your a weapon each mini plans to use

Step 2c says to gather the dice for that weapon, for each mini using that weapon. [This is the only place you are instructed to use keywords or instructions from the weapon in multiples]

Its not until step 6 that your told to use card abilities that can modify the dice. No where in here does it instruct you to look at those abilities in multiples, just use strictly whats on the card.

Those together seem to form a pretty clear separation on how impact will not stack, but the dice do "Stack".

It does seems just as confusing as before, though I found one more spot for the individual minis angle:

Under Attack Pool : "An attack pool can consist of dice from different weapons, but all weapons with an identical name must contribute their dice to the same attack pool."

Soo you can’t throw grenades at two targets at a time.

I’m not even sure we need a FAQ as much as just one clear example

Yeah, the fact that all of the same weapon must go into the same pool, combined with the wording here, makes me think it does not stack.

If a unit performs an attack using multiple weapons that have the impact x keyword and those weapons contribute dice to the same attack pool , the x values of each impact x keyword are cumulative.

Since you can't split the grenades into multiple pools (blue), it would seem that the red section is referring to multiple different weapons with stacking keywords.

5 minutes ago, svelok said:

Yeah, the fact that all of the same weapon must go into the same pool, combined with the wording here, makes me think it does not stack.

If a unit performs an attack using multiple weapons that have the impact x keyword and those weapons contribute dice to the same attack pool , the x values of each impact x keyword are cumulative.

Since you can't split the grenades into multiple pools (blue), it would seem that the red section is referring to multiple different weapons with stacking keywords.

This just feels like another example of poor wording by FFG. It seems clear that the intent of the blue section is to clarify that if a unit splits is fire the keywords do not stack across attacks. Whether it serves a secondary function, as you suggest, or not is still unclear.

Edited by Orcdruid
Wrong color.

Is anyone else surprised by only being able to issue orders from a single commander a turn? I get that it gives us the benefit of being able to spread forces and choose where to issue orders, but its still a HUGE limitation. Not nearly half as useful as I thought it would be.

4 minutes ago, svelok said:

Yeah, the fact that all of the same weapon must go into the same pool, combined with the wording here, makes me think it does not stack.

If a unit performs an attack using multiple weapons that have the impact x keyword and those weapons contribute dice to the same attack pool , the x values of each impact x keyword are cumulative.

Since you can't split the grenades into multiple pools (blue), it would seem that the red section is referring to multiple different weapons with stacking keywords.

Well, they seem to be pretty particular in explicitly stating different weapons or, on the other side, "weapons with the same name" elsewhere. If they don't list it there, it doesn't preclude weapons with the same name stacking.

I see what your saying, but the problem is you can have a heavy weapon and grenades in the same unit making it that phrasing necessary.

The problem is that grenades seemed to be defined as individual weapons, so they should stack.

2 minutes ago, Thoras said:

Is anyone else surprised by only being able to issue orders from a single commander a turn? I get that it gives us the benefit of being able to spread forces and choose where to issue orders, but its still a HUGE limitation. Not nearly half as useful as I thought it would be.

I haven't looked at it yet (browsing every so often at work), but would the other commander's courage bonus still apply to the units surrounding them even when not chosen to give orders?

1 minute ago, rekursiv said:

I haven't looked at it yet (browsing every so often at work), but would the other commander's courage bonus still apply to the units surrounding them even when not chosen to give orders?

Yes