Question: Crises with a choice

By Destrin, in Battlestar Galactica

Are you allowed to choose a choice that has no impact when resolving a crisis?

Example: I think it's the water shortage card that forces the president to choose between a skill check that might lose you food or him discarding 2 cards and the current player discarding three. In our game last night, the president drew this crisis on his turn and only had one skill card in his hand. My opinion was that he could choose the 'discard' option and just throw away the one remaining card he had, thus costing us very little.

The Cylon player disagreed and said we couldn't choose an outcome of a crisis card where we couldn't fulfil the conditions.

So, if a card comes up and you cannot fulfill the conditions of one of the choices...are you allowed to make that choice? Or do you have to take the other option?

Choice first. Then trigger the costs. So, yes, you can choose the option where you have to discard even though you don't have cards. It's a valid and often used tactic.

Yes. In fact it is specifically mentioned in the rulebook. Page 30.

Aha, thank you for the rules reference...I did go looking for something like that but I couldn't find it! On the wrong page again!