Sloan and Jan Ors

By thanosazlin, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

This might have been asked before but in midst of a CC match. If an interceptor is attacking Biggs and uses Sloan to spend 1 of Biggs braces. Can Jan Ors use her brace for Biggs if she is within distance of Biggs ? My argument is yes because she is not the defender , Sloan affects the defender and spends his brace

1 minute ago, thanosazlin said:

This might have been asked before but in midst of a CC match. If an interceptor is attacking Biggs and uses Sloan to spend 1 of Biggs braces. Can Jan Ors use her brace for Biggs if she is within distance of Biggs ? My argument is yes because she is not the defender , Sloan affects the defender and spends his brace

Sure.

Heck, Biggs can use his other if he wants....

What how my Oppenent is quoting basic rules book that says One Sloan spend my def token the brace I as Biggs cannot spend the other brace Biggs has ? Can you help me explain to him I’m lost myself now on Sloan lol

A single defense token can only be spent once.

The defender can only spend one type of each token.

Sloane is the attacker.

As attacker has spent a token, that particular token cannot be spent again, but as the defender did not spend that type of token, they are not yet restricted against spending that type.

...

In short, you cannot spend a Sloan spent token, but you can totally spend a redundant one.

Edited by Drasnighta

So he says rom rules book page 4

defense tokens can be spent as part of a cost for upgrade card effects. If spent this way a defense token does not produce its normal effect.

thoughts on that please ?

8 minutes ago, thanosazlin said:

So he says rom rules book page 4

defense tokens can be spent as part of a cost for upgrade card effects. If spent this way a defense token does not produce its normal effect.

thoughts on that please ?

Completely irrelevant.

That is talking about spending as a cost - such as using Darth Vader by spending your own token...

As it is: it’s in the FAQ.

Admiral Sloane


A token spent by this card’s effect cannot
be spent by the defender during that attack. The defender can spend another token of the same type during that attack.

To solidify the original question - absolutely nothing stops Jan from spending her braces during an attack on someone else - not even ACC results... But they can be Intel Officer’d... ?

Edited by Drasnighta

Key point here is that Biggs has two braces. So if Sloane is used on one Brace, Biggs can still use the other one.

Hera Syndulla, on the other hand, only has one brace. So if that brace got Sloaned during an attack, she wouldn't be able to spend it. But she could still spend a Jan Ors brace.