Raddus and Obstacles

By jbrandmeyer, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Can a Raddus'ed ship overlap an obstacle on arrival? I think the answer is yes, it can, because I cannot find anything that prevents it. Furthermore, since it did not "execute a maneuver" to get there, it doesn't suffer the effects of the obstacle, either.

Is that right?

Exactly. I don't know if it was intended or not, but as written, you can deploy the Raddus'ed ship overlapping an obstacle and don't have to resolve it's effect as it was not after a maneuver

Sooooo many clarifications needed for Raddus interactions with everything else hahaha

Edited by Muelmuel

The mechanic is named and known.

”Deploy”.

You can deploy on obstacles, with one note able exception - you cannot in the ambush zone during a fleet ambush. But that is otherwise specified.

(and that doesn’t really apply here as you remove the markers for the ambush zone after setup.)

Edited by Drasnighta

This mechanic is already in the game with HA. There is no constraint from deploying overlapping obstacles, and no, they don't have any impact because they resolve after your movement and you didn't move.

OK new to this debate - however if the "unofficial" rules and FAQ clarifications are not to be used as a guide - why are they there, they state in deployment - "ships cannot overlap when deploying them" - if this was incorrect would not FFG indicate that that statement is incorrect. I'm sure the community and FFG do not want the incorrect information to be on the site. This rules topic has been in place for so long - surely it has credence and acceptance as being true - except where clearly stated by card or condition.

So I see the answer as Ruddus overlapping as NO he can't nor can any other ship be deployed overlapping, unless "clearly" exceptionalised.

1 hour ago, Mjorr said:

OK new to this debate - however if the "unofficial" rules and FAQ clarifications are not to be used as a guide - why are they there, they state in deployment - "ships cannot overlap when deploying them" - if this was incorrect would not FFG indicate that that statement is incorrect. I'm sure the community and FFG do not want the incorrect information to be on the site. This rules topic has been in place for so long - surely it has credence and acceptance as being true - except where clearly stated by card or condition.

So I see the answer as Ruddus overlapping as NO he can't nor can any other ship be deployed overlapping, unless "clearly" exceptionalised.

Thanks for your thoughts!

You should know that that thread is in no way authoritative and is only there for convenience. I'm sorry to tell you this, but as a 100% community-driven platform, there is lots and lots of incorrect--or just incomplete--information on this forum. The forum moderation team is extremely hands-off; FFG employees never, ever directly interact with us on here in any sort of official capacity; and the only way we know anybody there even reads it is by creeping on the activity of people like @FFG Michael Gernes .

A crowdsourced resource like that thread does not make a good basis for divining RAI.

Edited by Ardaedhel

Just be careful when deploying on an Obstacle via Raddus.

If an enemy moves in front of you to block your path you could get stuck on an asteroid and have to ram the enemy. Face up and face down card each turn.

OK new to this debate - however if the "unofficial" rules and FAQ clarifications are not to be used as a guide - why are they there, they state in deployment - "ships cannot overlap when deploying them" - if this was incorrect would not FFG indicate that that statement is incorrect. I'm sure the community and FFG do not want the incorrect information to be on the site. This rules topic has been in place for so long - surely it has credence and acceptance as being true - except where clearly stated by card or condition.

So I see the answer as Ruddus overlapping as NO he can't nor can any other ship be deployed overlapping, unless "clearly" exceptionalised.

So is it correct to say then that ships that are "deployed" (at any stage of the game) can overlap obstacles but not ships or squadrons and not suffer the obstacle penalty as they did not "finish their move" on the obstacle

1 hour ago, Mjorr said:

So is it correct to say then that ships that are "deployed" (at any stage of the game) can overlap obstacles but not ships or squadrons and not suffer the obstacle penalty as they did not "finish their move" on the obstacle

Generally speaking, yes. There is no general prohibition from deploying overlapping an obstacle.

It doesn't come up often, because of course most of the time it's impossible. The most common place you'd see this before Raddus/ Profundity was in Hyperspace Assault, where it is possible for the objective ship to deploy overlapping an obstacle. Fleet Ambush introduces the opportunity for it to happen, but explicitly forbids it.

thanks

- logic (not part of this game) indicates if you suddenly materialise (deploy) on an obstacle its BOOM time....who needs logic when playing with plastic spaceships

Yep, Hyperspace was most common...

A lot of people didn’t see it in mihefields either, due to assumptions of wording... but it was most common there for me (after I beat fleetbambush out of people ?)