Raddus station assault

By SkyCake, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

On 2/9/2018 at 2:00 PM, Drasnighta said:

Actually ?

learn to play ARE rules.

They only fail to count when contradicted by the RRG...

its rare, but not unique to find something there...

The RRG does change the rule in this case. The RRG introduces the possibility of neutral targets and attacks. Planetary Ion Cannon reads:

"The attacker is treated as if it is a ship with a battery armament of 4 blue dice, but is not friendly to any ship or squadron."

It doesn't say that the ion cannon is anyone's enemy!

If the Learn to Play rule controlled this, the ion cannon could not attack anything. It is not defined as "enemy" to anything. Instead, it is defined as "not friendly" to everything. This clearly means that there are neutral things in Armada.

Fighter Wing specifies that the extra squadrons are added to the player's fleet, making them friendly. I suspect that the station isn't defined as part of the player's fleet because that would require all sorts of rules about not deploying it as part of the fleet, but there is a textual difference that Fighter Wing squadrons are part of the fleet, while Armed Stations are not specified as being part of the fleet.

Ion Cannon: And then explicitly states it as so.

Explicitly.

It tells you that you can, despite a rule ( as card effects overwrite Rules as require it) and then go.

i take that as confirmation of s rule existing - if it has to be excepted ?

Sorry, Dras, I don't get what you're saying. Explicitly states what?

14 minutes ago, elbmc1969 said:

Sorry, Dras, I don't get what you're saying. Explicitly states what?

That it is not counted as friendly for the purposes of the attack.

It doesn't state that its not an enemy - because that is assumed to be the case... Its not a case of a "neutral" attack. Its an attack against an enemy target that doesn't gain friendly bonuses. Offensively or Defensively.

This essentially ( well, not confirms the fact, because that's the issue :D ) "leads one to believe" that there is nothing to except the fact that targets must be enemies .

Although, in a side note, it does kind of lead us to believe that there are no frenemy targets either... In that an enemy can't also be friendly. :)

On 2/8/2018 at 5:16 PM, SkyCake said:

So in CC rule book it says that in objectives with station cards, like station assault, that

"Stations are treated as ships when resolving effects"

Raddus says

"You may deploy that ship at distance one of a friendly ship"

so can it be one of the stations in my station assault objective?

To answer the original question: No.

Even if we treat the stations as ships, Raddus sets aside ships during deployment. The stations are set during setup, specifically the place obstacles step, which is before deployment and thus before Raddus could ever trigger.

Biggs I was actually thinking to bring in the Raddus'ed ship at distance one of a station... The objective then allowing you two more points of entry

On 2/9/2018 at 3:06 AM, Tokra said:

Just use Advanced Gunnery (for a super MC80 drop) ;) .

But the other two are hard picks. There is nothing that clearly give Raddus such a big bonus.

But you can't do this. The newest FAQ won't allow it. You Raddus before you deploy, and thus that ship is set aside and not in play. Cannot target that ship to be an objective ship.

advanced-gunnery.png admiral-raddus.png

On 2/9/2018 at 3:06 AM, Tokra said:

Just use Advanced Gunnery (for a super MC80 drop) ;) .

But the other two are hard picks. There is nothing that clearly give Raddus such a big bonus.

But you can't do this. The newest FAQ won't allow it. You Raddus before you deploy, and thus that ship is set aside and not in play. Cannot target that ship to be an objective ship.

advanced-gunnery.png admiral-raddus.png

3 hours ago, Undeadguy said:

But you can't do this. The newest FAQ won't allow it. You Raddus before you deploy, and thus that ship is set aside and not in play. Cannot target that ship to be an objective ship.

advanced-gunnery.png admiral-raddus.png

Good point. This was the discussion for Raddus as well. And i am even on the side: ship get no token (how could i have forget this.. :wub: ).

On 09/02/2018 at 11:00 PM, Drasnighta said:

Actually ?

learn to play ARE rules.

They only fail to count when contradicted by the RRG...

its rare, but not unique to find something there...

...like the fact that a ship cannot equip more than one title card.

Believe it or not, that rule is only in the LtP, not in the RRG.

(Double post, sorry)

Edited by DiabloAzul