Strategic Adviser vs Raddus

By thecactusman17, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So Raddus says that a ship deployed by his ability "cannot be the first ship to activate" in a round.

Strategic Adviser says "When it is your turn to activate, you may exhaust this card to pass your turn (your opponent activates a ship instead)."

If I deploy a ship with Raddus, and my opponent immediately exhausts Strategic Adviser, do I have to activate a different ship before I can use the ship I just deployed?

Yup. `It cannot be the first ship to activate.

Wild crazy question time:

I have 1 ship left on the board with Raddus holding back a Liberty. My opponent has a Large ship with Strategic Adviser, and Han Solo. At the start of the round, I deploy the liberty. Han Solo Shoots First and destroys Raddus's flagship, leaving only the newly deployed Liberty. The Liberty is my only available ship and I am forced to activate.

What Happens?

1 minute ago, thecactusman17 said:

Wild crazy question time:

I have 1 ship left on the board with Raddus holding back a Liberty. My opponent has a Large ship with Strategic Adviser, and Han Solo. At the start of the round, I deploy the liberty. Han Solo Shoots First and destroys Raddus's flagship, leaving only the newly deployed Liberty. The Liberty is my only available ship and I am forced to activate.

What Happens?

you pass your activation

Just now, Ginkapo said:

you pass your activation

As in I don't get to activate? Is that possible?

Just now, thecactusman17 said:

As in I don't get to activate? Is that possible?

has to be, CANNOT trumps all.

Edit: you do get to activate, but after the enemy.

Edited by Ginkapo
Just now, Ginkapo said:

has to be, CANNOT trumps all.

Edit: you do get to activate, but after the enemy.

I acknowledge that this is a simple and elegant solution, but I don't like that it effectively adds an (involuntary) pass mechanic outside of the upgrade card.

8 minutes ago, thecactusman17 said:

I acknowledge that this is a simple and elegant solution, but I don't like that it effectively adds an (involuntary) pass mechanic outside of the upgrade card.

I am going to go back to my original answer when this was first asked,

"NEVER GONNA HAPPEN" :)

Well, **** happen, ask poor Greedo ?

In this extremely unlikely - but possible - scenario, you are forced to pass again because Han Solo isn't a ship. You CANNOT activate first. Sorry, you just got punked by an incredibly unlikely situation. Your opponent should be dancing around like it's 1999 right now, because this isn't ever going to happen to him again. LOL

Planetary ion cannon also works. Maybe take Han AND planetary ion cannons

38 minutes ago, Ginkapo said:

Planetary ion cannon also works. Maybe take Han AND planetary ion cannons

Indeed, Planetary Ion Cannons could save your day. However, if you have enough foresight to see that you'll only have one ship left when you want to deploy, AND then Han Solo destroys Raddus's ship that same turn, AND you REALLY REALLY want to go first, AND your opponent is close enough to an objective token, then a shot with the planetary ion cannon lets you satisfy your desire. However, your newly deployed ship STILL cannot go before your enemy activates a ship. If you went to all the trouble to make this situation actually happen in a real game, you wasted a lot of luck on a board game. Play Super Lottery instead.