Raddus and Endeavor

By connivingmole, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

If I use Raddus to set aside an MC80L with the Endeavor title at the beginning of the game, can I still gain the contain defense token at the beginning of the first round? Can the set aside ship resolve this upgrade card while set aside?

No, set aside ships simply do not exist for the purpose of resolving effects, abilities, etc.

EDIT: This is not a new interaction - Hyperspace Assault and Needa worked the exact same way.

Edited by DiabloAzul
25 minutes ago, DiabloAzul said:

No, set aside ships simply do not exist for the purpose of resolving effects, abilities, etc.

EDIT: This is not a new interaction - Hyperspace Assault and Needa worked the exact same way.

Ah yeah, forgot about that situation that has already existed. Thanks.

Seconding DiabloAzul's ruling. This is a timing violation and misses it's trigger opportunity.

Edited by LeatherPants
drunken typo

If you Raddus in the First Round - yes. If endeavour is a “stRt of first round” timing.

As you can resolve start of turn effects, as per FAQ.

However, the Needa precede applies to him, As you can’t Hyperspave the first round.

Edited by Drasnighta

Maybe I'm missing something here: what Needa precedent are we referencing here? Not that there's any ambiguity in this particular question--you clearly can't Endeavor or Needa on the HA/Radish objective ship because they're out of play--but I'm not seeing a Needa reference in the FAQ.

I didn't have a specific FAQ or e-mail ruling in mind. I was just pointing out that this type of interaction is not new, but rather entirely analogous to old situations as the same timings and keywords are in play.

I'm so accustomed to absentmindedly giving myself that Contain token at the start of the game, this was a good reminder to reread the exact card text when new waves release.

Confirming, that in one situation, you CAN gain the Endeavor Token!

Note this timing:

latest?cb=20160701150740

And this timing:

latest?cb=20170826103535

Note this FAQ:

Q: If a ship or squadron was set aside and is deployed at the start of a game round by an ability or upgrade card effect, can it resolve abilities and upgrade card effects at the start of that round?

A: Yes, as long as those abilities could be resolved at the start of the round in which that ship or squadron was deployed.

IF AND ONLY IF you deploy Endeavour First Round ... You may gain your Contain Defense Token.

16 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

I think I saw Endeavor card yesterday for my first time and my thought was that if I was rebel I would play it no matter how bad it could be. That art is so beautiful. :wub:

7 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

I think I saw Endeavor card yesterday for my first time and my thought was that if I was rebel I would play it no matter how bad it could be. That art is so beautiful. :wub:

I would've taken it today in my Raddus test fleet were it not for this interaction. :(