Shadowland section in a rulebook sounds as follow:
QuoteThe Shadowlands do not provide players with honor at the end of the game. A player does not gain honor for controlling Shadowlands territories or for having faceup control tokens in either Shadowlands province.
But does player gain Honor from Objective, like:
QuoteEmerald Empire
At the end of the game, if you control six consecutively adjacent provinces that span three different territories, you earn 10 honor.Web of Influence
At the end of the game, if you control at least one province in each of seven different territories, you earn 10 honor.
At first I thought yes, but after re-reading Shadowland rule I wasn't so sure.
In case of
QuoteReclaiming Lost Lands
At the end of the game, if you control both Shadowlands provinces, you earn 3 honor.
Card specific rule triumphs Rulebook general rule here so it's all fine. But in case of Emerald Empire and Web of Influence, it's no so clear whatever non-specific descriptor Province was intended as Any Province, even Shadowlands overriding Shadowlands gives no Honor , or as generic statement still under the rule of Shadowlands gives no Honor .
Fluff-wise arguments also arise, as one would expect political and empire-centric objectives would depend on civilized regions and not some cursed, kami-forgotten wasteland.
Interpretation changes tactics and value of those objectives a lot, as gaining 6 provinces across 3 territories including Shadowlands means you need only Crab territory and both Shadowlands to satisfy 10 Honor worth objective. Same goes with Web of Influence, where you can fulfill 3/7 of requirement if you keep your capital and take Shadowlands that have no strategic value (doesn't count for final score for anyone except one with Reclaiming Lost Lands objective.)
I'm interested both in private opinions and rules interpretation as I'd appreciate official comment on intended ruling as I'm always interested in playing game as-designed first.
Regards,
Warenhari
--
Edit: formatting fixes.
Edited by Warenhari