Ordnance Pods + QLT

By Ardaedhel, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Can you Ord Porg after a QLT counter?

latest?cb=20180118085929 latest?cb=20150919042227

Counter X: After a squadron performs a non-counter attack against you, you may attack that squadron with an anti-squadron armament of blue dice equal to X, even if you are destroyed.

I kinda think you can, though it's a pretty niche case that you'd want to. I guess the use case is a QLT/Porg/Kallus ISDK that's about to get popped by a bunch of 1- or 2-hull-remaining bombers and they activate before you do...?

Inb4 Dras' tirade about "attack" vs "attack"... ;)

No, because Ordnance Pods occurs at the end of the Attack Step and that is during the ships activation, it's not the same as an attack from a counter.

Ship Activation
Ships are activated during the Ship Phase. When a ship is activated, its owner proceeds through the following steps.
1 . Reveal Command Dial: Reveal the ship’s top command dial. Then either place the dial next to the ship in the play area or spend the dial to place the corresponding command token next to the ship in the play area.
2 . Attack: Perform up to two attacks with the ship from different hull zones.
This is when Ordnance Pods takes place
3 . Execute Maneuver: Move the ship at its current speed.

Yeah, counter attacks happen outside the Attack Step.

Ahhh, that Attack Step. Yup, you guys are right. Thanks.

23 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Inb4 Dras' tirade about "attack" vs "attack"... ;)

I was looking for you Ackshually gif, but couldn’t find it quickly ?

I had the same thoughts initially with Impetuous and QLTs when the raider released!

I agree, I would say they have been very careful to word the card in such a manner as to exclude "counter" attacks.

That being said, the card could easily be argued :

Counter is an attack and as such it follows all rules for making an attack (IE it goes through the same attack steps as any other attack.)

Ordnance Pods "At the end of your attack step."

Attack step :

1 : Declare target
2 : Roll attack dice
3 : Resolve attack effects
4 : Spend Defence tokens
5 : Resolve Damage
6 : Declare additional squadron target

As per the wording on Ord Pod, after 5 or 6 is complete is a legal timing window for its resolution.

19 hours ago, DiabloAzul said:

Yeah, counter attacks happen outside the Attack Step.

Would it be better to say that the QLT counter happens within your opponent’s attack step? Since the timing of Ordnance Pods is after your Attack Step, it wouldn’t trigger?

28 minutes ago, TheEasternKing said:

I agree, I would say they have been very careful to word the card in such a manner as to exclude "counter" attacks.

That being said, the card could easily be argued :

Counter is an attack and as such it follows all rules for making an attack (IE it goes through the same attack steps as any other attack.)

Ordnance Pods "At the end of your attack step."

Attack step :

1 : Declare target
2 : Roll attack dice
3 : Resolve attack effects
4 : Spend Defence tokens
5 : Resolve Damage
6 : Declare additional squadron target

As per the wording on Ord Pod, after 5 or 6 is complete is a legal timing window for its resolution.

Counter goes through the same attack steps but the attack step per se is something else. The attack step is one of the steps of the ship's activation

“After firing Salvos”..,

... aah, if hindsight was gold, o wouldn’t be in crippling debt ?

21 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

I was looking for you Ackshually gif, but couldn’t find it quickly ?

DpQ9YJl.jpg

On 2/2/2018 at 1:35 PM, Ardaedhel said:

Can you Ord Porg after a QLT counter?

latest?cb=20180118085929 latest?cb=20150919042227

I kinda think you can, though it's a pretty niche case that you'd want to. I guess the use case is a QLT/Porg/Kallus ISDK that's about to get popped by a bunch of 1- or 2-hull-remaining bombers and they activate before you do...?

Agree with the consensus. Pods doesn't trigger until the END of YOUR attack step. Your counter attack is happening during THEIR attack step, not your's. In this instance, finish your counter attack and stop.

Counter is an ability that makes you repeat "Your" attack step, during an enemy ships activation.

(I still agree, just playing devils advocate.)

Edited by TheEasternKing