I have played IA once before, and had this topic come up. We researched it, found many posts here and on boardgamegeek.com, and kept it the way it is interpreted. Now I am playing with a new group of people, and the discussion has come up again.
When playing as rebels, you can suffer strain to gain additional movement points, up to twice per activation. The interpretation that I have read here, and my friends have decided, is that these two movement points can be spent as a separate action. To me, this then lends that a rebel hero could get three actions per activation. Spend strain to move, gain movement and attack, or attack twice after the strain movement.
As I interpret the rules, which I will quote below, spending strain adds movement points to your movement pool. And that the only time you can spend movement points immediately is when you receive them when it is not your activation. So, you spend strain to gain additional movement points during your activation, you declare that one of your actions is to have movement, or both actions. Then you may proceed with your second action, moving or attacking, spending those movement points to move your figure during your activation. You cannot (in my interpretation of the rules) spend strain to gain movement points and immediately use them to move your figure, then gain your additional movement points based on your speed, or gain two attacks because you moved two spaces into an optimal position.
Not sure if any FFG developers read this that can reply, but we are looking for some confirmation on how this rule was meant to be played.
Thanks.
Rules quotes, from the reference guide.
Movement Points (p.20)
- During a campaign, a hero can suffer 1C (strain) at any point during his activation to gain one movement point. He may do this up to twice per activation.
- Any time a figure gains movement points, they are added to the remaining total of movement points that figure possesses.
Movement (p.19)
- Performing a move does not move the figure; it only provides movement points that may be spent during that figure’s activation. This means that a figure may use its first action to perform a move, followed by an attack, and then spend the movement points. It may even spend some movement points before the attack and then some of them after the attack.