Jarrod's class cards doubts

By Trevize84, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Hi,

I have few doubts about Jarrod's class cards.

Forward Momentum
Let's assume Jax earned 1 movement point at the start of Jarrod's activation.

  1. Is this point earned outside Jax's activation if Jax activates at the END of Jarrod's activation?
  2. Is this point earned outside Jax's activation if Jax activates at the START of Jarrod's activation?

Scout's Loadout
When card says "Rebel figure" does this include Jarrod and Jax themselves?

Thanks.

Edited by Golan Trevize

Jarrod and Jax are rebel figures.

Note that the timing of Forward Momentum refers to the start of Jarrod's activation.

The timing of Jax's activation "at the start or end of Jarrod's activation" and Forward Momentum is slightly confusing (because only one figure should be activating at the same time, but the timing is "at the beginning", which would normally be considered within the activation), creating a chicken-and-egg situation. I think it's fair for Jax to put the mp into its movement point pool and Jarrod use it immediately if exhausted at the start of Jax's activation, and vice versa if Jax is activated first at the start of Jarrod's activation.

If Jax activates after Jarrod, the mp from Forward Momentum is received out of its activation.

I can't see the confusing part you are talking about.

Forward Momentum (FM) states:
"At the start of your activation, you or J4X-7 gains 1 movement point."

Droid Mastery (DM) says:
"J4X-7 activates at the start or end of your activation"

So when I use DM at the end of the activation, movement points from FM are definitely outside Jax's activation. Hence Jax interrupts and moves 1 space.

When I use DM at the start of the activation, by RAW I can see a conflict as both cards report same trigger "at the start of your activation". This conflict has to be resolved by Rebel players.

However there's also FAQ saying:
"The companion shares that hero or group’s affiliation and activates before or after the corresponding activation."

This sounds somewhat contradictory, although it could be considered (semantically) equivalent to DM. Anyway golden rules suggest that DM overrides the FAQ, so in any possible case DM wording is what really matter, hence we still have a conflict that has to be resolved by the rebel players.

If everything said so far makes sense, rebels can decide:

FM first, then DM.

I would interpret this case the following way:

(JARROD'S ACTIVATION STARTS HERE) FM ==> JAX INTERRUPTS AND MOVES ==> JARROD CONTINUES ACTIVATION ==> JAX ACTIVATES NOW

RRG at page 9, "Conflicts" says:
"The decision for a player to resolve an optional effect coincides with the order of resolution. After a player has declined to trigger one or more abilities, he does not have the opportunity to trigger that ability until the next triggering instance"

I believe that using FM before DM is like declining DM. Jarrod's activation has started and now DM can't kick in until the end of the activation.

DM first, then FM.

I would interpret this case the following way:

DM (JAX ACTIVATION STARTS HERE) ==> JAX DOES ITS ACTIVATION ==> JARROD ACTIVATES AT THIS POINT ==> FM

FM triggers when Jarrod's activation starts so if DM kicks in, it interrupts Jarrod's activation which gets deferred as well as the FM trigger.

Edited by Golan Trevize