Can you stack Seventh Fleet?

By KrisWall, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Let's say I have 4 identical Vics flying in formation, all with the Seventh Fleet Star Destroyer title. Let's say the front ship takes a hit. Can I exhaust the other three ships' copies to reduce the damage by 3? In other words, can I trigger the effect more than once?

"While defending against an attack that targets your front hull zone , before you suffer damage , you may choose and exhaust a copy of this card on another friendly ship at distance 1-4 to reduce the total damage by 1."

"a copy of this card..."

I would say this is singular for that attack.

If VSD#1 is targeted by 3 shots then by all means exhaust 3 copies of the 7th fleet card and save yourself 3 damage.

I'm assuming this would have the same ruling as TFA, therefore you can only cancel 1 damage per attack

Thanks all. That's what I figured, but I wasn't clear on whether or not you could "trigger" a card more than once when the card is not exhausted as part of the triggering.

It’s as simple as a while trigger:

• A “while” effect can be resolved during the specifed event and cannot occur again during that instance of the event.

From the RRG, page 5, "Effect Use and Timing"

Quote

A “while” effect can be resolved during the specified event and cannot occur again during that instance of the event. [Emphasis added]

So you can only use the ability once per time you are defending. The ability lets you exhaust "a copy" of the card to reduce the damage by one. So only once per attack.

Although if you get double-arc'd you'd be able to use a second copy on the second attack.

... and Drasnighta beat me to it.

Edited by Grumbleduke