Start of the next round???

By darkevans, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I’m sorry if this has been asked before, but what actually starts the beginning of the next round. I was reading the rules and saw that the passing of the initiative token was actually the last part of the status phase. So does the round begin right after it’s passed or when someone plays a beginning of the round card or activated a figure.

the new round begins after the status phase ends. The initiative token is passed and the round counter would increase. Start the new round according the activation phase in the skirmish guide:

“Activation Phase: Players first resolve any abilities that are triggered at the start of a round (for example, from the Skirmish Mission card).
Then, starting with the player that has initiative, the players take turns activating deployment groups and performing actions with the corresponding figures.”

So unless a player has played a beginning of the round card or activated a new figure the new round has not started?

9 minutes ago, darkevans said:

So unless a player has played a beginning of the round card or activated a new figure the new round has not started?

The other way around, really. Like said already, the next round starts when the initiative token has been passed (and the round counter increased).

There is also the Pass rule. The new round has started even if no groups have been activated if the Pass rule has been invoked.

Why are you asking? For clarity - just call out the start of round trigger. So both players can pass or use their timing trigger.

Edited by a1bert
27 minutes ago, a1bert said:

Why are you asking?

Had a situation in a game the other day where, we went through all of the stays phase stuff on reigning freight. I passed the initiative token and the TO called time in the round. We played another round. I lost. I’m a little salty about it lol. I was ahead by a point but there was no way I’d win if we continued. I’m not upset at the rule. It’s just an unfortunate way to lose a game. Just want to clarify in case it happens again.

New round officially starts when the initiative token is passed. From this point in timed skirmish, you finish this new round.

I should point out here that stalling to avoid the next round is illegal. I've been burned by somebody stalling before. Todd was standing over us in worlds during a close game and when the initiative token was passed he says, new round, finish your round and walked away, calling time about 30 seconds later.

1 hour ago, theChony said:

New round officially starts when the initiative token is passed.

When? Or after? If I have the initiative token in my hand and am in the act of passing it, has the new round begun? Based on the wording in the rules I would say no but this is what I’m trying to clarify.

Just now, darkevans said:

When? Or after? If I have the initiative token in my hand and am in the act of passing it, has the new round begun? Based on the wording in the rules I would say no but this is what I’m trying to clarify.

If it's that close though in a tournament, the TO should have the option of allowing the new round to play through. Many will err on the side of allowing another round because nobody wants stalling to be a viable tactic in the game.

1 hour ago, Fightwookies said:

If it's that close though in a tournament, the TO should have the option of allowing the new round to play through. Many will err on the side of allowing another round because nobody wants stalling to be a viable tactic in the game.

I agree stalling is bad. It’s kind of a catch 22 at that point though. One person has done enough to be ahead at that point, and the other has done enough to pull out a victory with an extra round. It’s just an unfortunate situation for both players IMO. I think the right decision was made in my game. We had already passed the initiative token so we should have went an extra round.

1 hour ago, darkevans said:

When? Or after? If I have the initiative token in my hand and am in the act of passing it, has the new round begun? Based on the wording in the rules I would say no but this is what I’m trying to clarify.

As soon as it has been passed, so immediately after, at least that's how Todd handled it. In your extreme but possible example, that should be up to a TO who should have been there to make the best decision.