Question of Riot Trooper in OPEN GROUP

By kamenhanji, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Some UNITS have more deployment card than their figure, like JET TROOPER (2 reg, 1 eli), RIOT TROOPER (2 reg, 1 eli)

My question is, in a campaign, can I join them to my open group at same time?

Or the number of deployment card have to match the number of available figure?

(For Example, I choose 2 Regular and 1 Elite Riot trooper for my open group, so I can deploy 2 Regular or 1 Regular + 1 Elite depends on situation)

Edited by kamenhanji

I think there's a gap in your knowledge on "open group"

A deployment group (like Riot Troopers) can have multiple figures . It's still one group

ex. Stormtrooper group have 3 figures, Riot troopers have 2, villains like Vader have 1

When you initially pick open groups, you pick groups not figures

When you deploy a group onto the map by spending threats, you place all the figures in that group to an active deployment point, as close as possible

Sorry I didn't say clear enough.

What I mean is:

Can I have all 3 deployment card during a mission, (Either open group, reserved group or Initial groups) even I have figures only for 2 groups ?

The rules aren't clear. They say that you can't simultaneously use more than two groups, but it doesn't seem to block you from having all three in your open groups. If anything, that might penalise you for not being able to deploy all three at the same time, it would be better to have a different group as the third?

Assume a mission has a Riot Trooper group as a reserved group. Further assume you have two Riot Trooper groups in your open groups. You have deployed both groups. Now an event happens and says to deploy the reserved Riot Trooper group. What will you do?

Do you deploy the group anyway? - mission rules can override other rules and the HotE Expansion Setup does not use cannot .

Or would it be better to assume "using" in the broader sense? i.e. not be able to have more than two in initial, reserved, and open groups. (Open groups are chosen after initial and reserved groups are taken out of the pool.)

On 29/01/2018 at 5:27 AM, a1bert said:

Assume a mission has a Riot Trooper group as a reserved group. Further assume you have two Riot Trooper groups in your open groups. You have deployed both groups. Now an event happens and says to deploy the reserved Riot Trooper group. What will you do?

Do you deploy the group anyway? - mission rules can override other rules and the HotE Expansion Setup does not use cannot .

Or would it be better to assume "using" in the broader sense? i.e. not be able to have more than two in initial, reserved, and open groups. (Open groups are chosen after initial and reserved groups are taken out of the pool.)

I'm terribly new at this (as you know a1bert! Lol) , but your second explanation seems to make more sense. Occam's razor. As the imperial, I assume you need to plan for mission effects and build your open groups accordingly. In the example you give, seems you should only put one regular group of RT's in your open group or else risk losing the benefit of the reserve regular RT's from the mission event.

Edited by TeethAlmighty
On 29/01/2018 at 4:57 AM, neosmagus said:

The rules aren't clear. They say that you can't simultaneously use more than two groups,

This is good to know. Is there a reference for this rule? I just assumed it went by number of deployment cards in the game sets you own. I figured if the game provides 2 regular and 1 elite deployment cards, that means all three groups would be available...

4 hours ago, TeethAlmighty said:

This is good to know. Is there a reference for this rule? I just assumed it went by number of deployment cards in the game sets you own. I figured if the game provides 2 regular and 1 elite deployment cards, that means all three groups would be available...

In the expansions it is under setup, where you find the instructions of how to add the components to the base game. Generally for the box expansions it's by quantity of figures.

Figure packs are different and list their rules under component limitations.