Salvage Run Obstacle Placement

By Undeadguy, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I feel like this is an over sight on FFGs part, but Salvage Run says to place obstacles AT range 1-5 of the station. This super-cedes the RRG correct? So I can place any obstacles touching the station because it's at Range 1.

salvage-run.png

It's also the only objective that changes obstacle placement, but does not specify obstacles to be placed beyond a range of other obstacles. I would guess the obstacles still need to be beyond 1 of each other, but at 1 of the station.

minefields.png navigational-hazards.png contested-outpost.png blockade-run.png close-range-intel-scan.png station-assault.png

What does "at" mean?

It means I've been playing it wrong for a year.

4 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

It means I've been playing it wrong for a year.

That wasnt rhetorical, I dont know the answer. Did you look it up?

1 minute ago, Ginkapo said:

That wasnt rhetorical, I dont know the answer. Did you look it up?

I never know when you're serious or not hahahaha

• The following terms are used when discussing range and distance:

  • ◊ At: If any portion of a hull zone, base, or token is inside a specified band, that component is at that band.
  • ◊ Beyond: If no portion of a hull zone, base, or token is inside a specified band or a band closer to the bottom of the ruler, that component is beyond the specified band.
  • ◊ Within: If the entirety of a base or token is inside a specified band, that component is within that band.
  • ◊ Minimum–Maximum: This abbreviation encompasses the minimum band, maximum band, and all bands in-between, such as “distance 1–4.”

Also for reference

Place Obstacles: Starting with the second player, the players take turns choosing and placing six obstacles into the play area. Obstacles must be placed within the setup area, beyond distance 3 of the edges of the play area and beyond distance 1 of each other.

4 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

I never know when you're serious or not hahahaha

Its intentional. You assumed I already knew the answer as you always will. It works wonders at training junior staff. :)

That would suggest obstacles can be closer than range 1 of each other as some areas distance 5 of the station are insude distance 3 of the play edges, so contradictory, upgrade card trumps.

Very wierd. I hope this isnt so.

While there is no errata, you're right the obstacles can be placed touching the station

Does the objective supersede the rule that obstacles must be beyond 1 of each other.

No.

It just adds the requirement at distance 1 - 5 of the station.

Just now, Green Knight said:

Does the objective supersede the rule that obstacles must be beyond 1 of each other.

No.

It just adds the requirement at distance 1 - 5 of the station.

Or perhaps beyond 1 of other obstacles, but possibly touching the station?

Seems odd, but perhaps.

When GK second-guesses himself, the rule really must be ambiguous.

:lol:

I don't think it's ambiguous. The rule on the objective card adjusts the "beyond distance 1" requirement for obstacles with respect to the station. So other obstacles can touch the station. Placement of other obstacles must still follow all the other rules regarding their placement (must be more than distance 1 from another "non-station" obstacle and must be beyond distance 3 of the play area edges).

What I am concerned about is whether obstacles can overlap (NOT the Armada definition) the station. That would be a weird situation, and I'd like to know if I'm missing something that prohibits that.

Touching the station seems incredibly weird ...

The intent seemed to be a donut: Station, objectives, obstacles. That makes perfect sense. Having the objectives outside of a ring of obstacles doesn't make any sense to me.

24 minutes ago, RobertK said:

What I am concerned about is whether obstacles can overlap (NOT the Armada definition) the station. That would be a weird situation, and I'd like to know if I'm missing something that prohibits that.

???

FF, p10 "Place Obstacles: Starting with the second player, the players take turns choosing and placing six obstacles into the play area. Obstacles must be placed within the setup area, beyond distance 3 of the edges of the play area and beyond distance 1 of each other."

Salvage Run "Setup: The second player places the station in the centre of the play area. Then, starting with the second player, the players alternate placing the remaining obstacles, adding the 2 dust field obstacles, at distance 1-5 of the station."

I can see that the Salvage Run card wording replaces the first sentence of the Place Obstacles rule, but why should it nullify the second sentence? In my opinion it does not and the second sentence of the Place Obstacles rule still stands.

Edited by Don Henderson fan club
spelling correction

The non-station obstacles must be placed "at distance 1-5 of the station".

If an obstacle overlaps the station, is it at distance 1? Part of the obstacle is within the distance 1 band.

13 minutes ago, Don Henderson fan club said:

???

FF, p10 "Place Obstacles: Starting with the second player, the players take turns choosing and placing six obstacles into the play area. Obstacles must be placed within the setup area, beyond distance 3 of the edges of the play area and beyond distance 1 of each other."

Salvage Run "Setup: The second player places the station in the centre of the play area. Then, starting with the second player, the players alternate placing the remaining obstacles, adding the 2 dust field obstacles, at distance 1-5 of the station."

I can see that the Salvage Run card wording replaces the first sentence of the Place Obstacles rule, but why should it nullify the second sentence? In my opinion it does not and the second sentence of the Place Obstacles rule still stands.

Because every other objective that indicates a change in how the obstacles are placed, also indicate that they must be placed beyond distance 1 of one another. A good example in this case is Blockade Run:
"Obstacles must be placed in the play area beyond 2 range rulers lenght of both players edges, and beyond distance 1 of all other obstacles"
In this case the first part replaces the sentence on which area the obstacles must be placed as Salvage Run also does, but if it doesn't nullify all that sentence in the rulebook, then the part of "beyond distance 1 of all other obstacles" would be a redundancy.
That is why we think that with Salvage Run you can place obstacles at (not beyond) distance 1 of the station, but still must be beyond distance 1 of other obstacles.

FF, p9: "The following terms are used when discussing range and distance: ◊ At: If any portion of a hull zone, base, or token is inside a specified band, that component is at that band."
"... at distance 1-5 of the Station" on the Salvage Run card therefore means at least distance 1 and no further than distance 5 from the Station.
Edited by Don Henderson fan club
inserted missing word
3 minutes ago, Don Henderson fan club said:
FF, p9: "The following terms are used when discussing range and distance: ◊ At: If any portion of a hull zone, base, or token is inside a specified band, that component is at that band."
"... at distance 1-5 of the Station" on the Salvage Run card therefore means at least distance 1 and no further than distance 5 from the Station.

That is not right. The definition of "At" is if ANY portion of a hull zone, base or token is INSIDE the specified band. So if only a tip of the obstacle token is touching the band in distance 1 or distance 5, even if the rest of the token is outside that band, its legal. That is the difference between "At" compared to "Whithin" and "beyond", for which in those two cases the base, hull zone or token cannot excede that band.

Yes, I see your point.