DJitD Questions

By thunderw, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

I am relatively new to playing this game. I usually run it as the OL.

1. I understand that there is a progression table available to run through the first 10 quests. If we run quest 4 or 5 at a single sit down, should I be offering the players the chance to spend more money beofer they start the dungeon? The first quest was way to easy for the players and I heard #4 starts the more difficult ones, so we skipped ahead.

2. We ran into a problem on quest 4. The first room of the 4 that the players went to was one of the all red monster rooms. Knowing that their star player would die, he made a mad rush into the room to try to kill the master ogre. He did a MASSIVE amount of dmg to the creature, 3x hp. But I rolled undying 3 times in a row. My question is this, according to the FAQ lingering effects last until an undying roll is failed. But should I seriously be rolling undying over and over until I fail? One attack caused me to roll undying 3 times in a row to stay alive. Or should I only get ONE undying roll and if the dmg is still enough to kill all hp, does the creature just die without another roll?

3. Another issue we had was time.... It seems to me that we are playing Descent like a compliated game of chess. Turns are taking really long to complete because the players sit there and plan all their moves together before they actually make them. It seems to me like it takes for ever for them to get done. I also felt like one player would monopolize the strategy and make all the decisions for the team. I can't imagine I would enjoy playing a game where I just counted my counters and rolled my dice and never made my own decisions. Does anyone have any suggestions on this?