Questions about rules by beginners

By Fulton Fighter, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

My wife and I recently purchased and played the game. So far we've played twice but we have some questions about the rules. So far we're just using the starting crane and lion deck.

1a) If my wife plays the Assassination card and puts her 3 honor in the communal pot, and then I interrupt her action with the Voice of Honor card, which cancel those effects, does she take back her honor?

1b) In the same scenario above, and really with all interrupting cards, whose turn is it to go next? I think the next action goes to the interrupting player, while she thinks it reverts back to the player that tried to initiate an action. (I'll give you three guesses as to which way we ended up playing)

2) What is the determining factor for control? The rules say something to the effect of all cards in your decks and discard pile are in the player's control. But with the Matsu Beiona card it reads, "after this character enters play, if you control 3 or more other Bushi characters, place 2 fate on this character." Do the Bushis need to be in play, or can Bushis sitting on provinces or in your hand count towards controlling 3?

3) Lastly, Guidance of the Ancestors reads, "play this attachment from your conflict discard pile." So it can come back multiple times from the discard pile? Some other cards have the action to search and play a card from the discard pile, but can this one be played from there without any commands to search through your pile?

Thanks in advance for any help. I've randomly got the crane deck both times we've played, and I got to tell you, Lion clan seems superior.

1a) When you look at a triggered ability, everything before the dash is a cost or precondition, and is paid when you initiate the event. A Voice of Honor (and Scorpion's Forged Edict) cancels the effects of an event, which is the portion that goes after the dash. So, the costs are still paid and she loses her 3 honor. Everything before the dash is done, but everything after the dash (like in Banzai!) is canceled.

1b) Players pass actions back and forth, until both players consecutively pass (usually). Playing an interrupt or reaction ability uses a separate timing window that does not disrupt this flow, so Voice of Honor doesn't take your action. If your wife used an action to activate a triggered ability and then you used an Interrupt ability, when they both resolve, you'll have next opportunity to play actions.

2) Cards in provinces and hand do not count for Matsu Beiona. You do technically control them, but cards that reference other cards only 'interact' with cards that are in play (not in provinces unless it's a holding), which means that even though you control them, they don't count unless they're in play. This can change if it references another zone specifically.

3) If it's in your graveyard, you can play it. It still costs a fate to play because you have to pay the costs and all that, but you can get it back over and over. You don't need some ability to look at your graveyard, it's all face-up and known information all the time (so far.)

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/a7/15/a715fd37-069b-49b3-b2a2-5691d7429d46/l5c01-rules_reference-highres-v11.pdf This is the rules reference document, which can be useful for clearing up various questions, if you can find the relevant sections.

Edited by AradonTemplar

Ok thanks alot. That clears up some confusion. We've been going through that rule book and it's helped a lot, but i figured Id join the forum especially once we get more advanced decks

Further to Guidance of the Ancestors, don't forget that Keeper Initiates trigger themselves from the discard pile as well.

About the "control" thing. You do control all cards in your deck, hand, draw pile, discard, provinces - you control everything that you brought into the game unless someone specifically changes that. This is detailed in the RR page 4 Control and Ownership

HOWEVER

Cards don't see all that. A card's ability follows the guidelines on page 2 for Abilities. Here it clarifies that card abilities only interact with, and only target cards in play unless they specify that they work otherwise.

So - while you control every bushi in your deck the ability on Beiona can only see the cards you control that are in play.

Just to expand a little bit on point 1b, although AradonTemplar explained it very well.

While the games follows a “both players alternate actions” pattern, reactions and interrupts stop that flow, and then another window for them opens (reaction window), that is also resolved following player order.

Meaning you go P1-P2-P1-P2... on playing actions. When, let’s say, P1’s action is reacted, you play reactions in P2-P1-P2... order until no more reactions are played for that specific trigger. And then you return to the normal flow of the game, which in this case would mean P2’s turn to action.

On 26/01/2018 at 9:44 AM, Tabris2k said:

When, let’s say, P1’s action is reacted, you play reactions in P2-P1-P2... order until no more reactions are played for that specific trigger.

The first player has the first opportunity in every reaction or interruption window. So the order is P1-P2-P1... whether you're reacting to P1's or P2's action (or anything else).

4 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

The first player has the first opportunity in every reaction or interruption window. So the order is P1-P2-P1... whether you're reacting to P1's or P2's action (or anything else).

Yeah, I meant that P2 reacted to P1’s action, that’s why I put P2 first. I just defined players as P1 and P2, but didn’t meant it as P1 had the First Player Token, although now I see it can lead to confusion

The important thing is that every Action/Reaction/Interrupt opens a new window where the two players can react in player order to that specific trigger, and once that window closes, the flow of the game returns to its previous state and continues in whatever player order it was before that window.

Edited by Tabris2k

Yeah, that's the source of the confusion. I assumed P1 was the first player.

Ok thanks everybody. This has cleared up a lot of confusion