A reference topic referencing elsewhere, to make it easier to search for when the question inevitably gets asked later ?
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/267825-highest-aspiration/
Edited by Drasnighta
A reference topic referencing elsewhere, to make it easier to search for when the question inevitably gets asked later ?
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/267825-highest-aspiration/
Edited by Drasnighta
For completeness:
Aspiration: When you deploy this ship, you may move shields to up to 2 of your hull zones from your other hull zones. If you do, the number of shields in a zone cannot exceed a maximum of "6". You cannot recover shields while any zone is greater than its maximum shield value.
Projection Experts: [While resolving a Repair command,] You may spend up to 2 engineering points to move that many shields from your ship to a friendly ship at distance 1-5.
See also RRG p. 3:
Repair:
Resolve after revealing the ship’s command dial.
◊◊ Dial:
Gain engineering points equal to the ship’s engineering value and spend them on the following repair effects.
-
Move
Shields:
Spend one point to
move
one shield by
reducing
one of the ship’s hull zone’s shield dials by one and then
increasing
another of its hull zone’s shields by one (without exceeding its maximum shield value).
-
Recover
Shields:
Spend two points to
recover
one shield on any of the ship’s hull zones (without exceeding its maximum shield value).
And p. 10:
Shields
Each hull zone has its own shield dial and maximum shield value. The number displayed on the shield dial indicates the hull zone’s remaining shields.
• Each ship begins the game with its shield dials set to the maximum shield values shown in the corresponding hull zones.
• When a ship
spends
,
loses
, or
recovers
shields, rotate the shield dial to indicate the shields remaining in that hull zone.
• A hull zone cannot have more shields than its maximum shield value, and it cannot
recover
a shield if it is at its maximum shield value.
• A hull zone cannot have fewer than zero shields, and it cannot
lose
a shield if it has none remaining.
I will note that, although at a glance I fully agreed with Dras, there is more to it than it seems - because the RRG is not consistent.
The term " recover " seems to be used in two different ways:
For the latter, see specifically the last few bullet points in Shields, p.10:
• When a ship spends , loses , or recovers shields, rotate the shield dial to indicate the shields remaining in that hull zone.
If " recover " had a narrow meaning linked only to the Recover Shields mechanic, then:
• When a ship moves shields to a zone, (i.e. increasing the shields there without recovering ) you do not rotate the shield dial!
That whole section reads very weirdly, with the terms "recovering" and "increasing" seemingly used interchangeably - just like "reducing" and "losing".
3 minutes ago, DiabloAzul said:I will note that, although at a glance I fully agreed with Dras, there is more to it than it seems - because the RRG is not consistent.
The term " recover " seems to be used in two different ways:
- Specifically, as the repair effect " Recover Shields" (i.e. completely distinct from " Move Shields", which is the effect granted by Projection Experts).
- More generally, interchangeably with " increase without exceeding its maximum value".
For the latter, see specifically the last few bullet points in Shields, p.10:
• When a ship spends , loses , or recovers shields, rotate the shield dial to indicate the shields remaining in that hull zone.
If " recover " had a narrow meaning linked only to the Recover Shields mechanic, then:
• When a ship moves shields to a zone, (i.e. increasing the shields there without recovering ) you do not rotate the shield dial!
That whole section reads very weirdly, with the terms "recovering" and "increasing" seemingly used interchangeably - just like "reducing" and "losing".
I thought there was a reference that wsy... but I couldn’t find it while working on the mobile.
i was stuck mostly in commands and not shields.
certInly, precedence exists to show that while one shield is above, no other shields can be raised...
its in my ckarification queue with Chimaera
Edited by DrasnightaDefinitely unclear.
Agreed. Until clarified, I would play Aspiration as not allowing any shield increases, including those from PE. But it's up to each TO of course.
44 minutes ago, DiabloAzul said:Agreed. Until clarified, I would play Aspiration as not allowing any shield increases, including those from PE. But it's up to each TO of course.
^ This.
Is it possible that we're just focusing too much on the word 'recovery'? I mean one of the means if spending engineering points is 'recover sheilds' action and that verbage is mirrored in the asperation title. I would take it as to referring to the engineering action. I mean some punctuation would be nice. But in reality, I think this one is on the readers perspective. Phrase or word.
14 minutes ago, Noosh said:Is it possible that we're just focusing too much on the word 'recovery'? I mean one of the means if spending engineering points is 'recover sheilds' action and that verbage is mirrored in the asperation title. I would take it as to referring to the engineering action. I mean some punctuation would be nice. But in reality, I think this one is on the readers perspective. Phrase or word.
Well, According to the section entitled Shields.... Shields can be Spent, removed or Recovered.
When you increase them, they are not being spent or removed... So the implication is they are being recovered - which works both colloquially and in rules-parsing since it has its inherent limitation of up to its original starting value - the very definition of recover, to regain what was lost. ?
Wow. Surprised to see so much love for what in my view is very clearly the RAI interpretation. Wouldn’t be at all shocked to see the FAQ we get in October of 2023 rule it that way. But RAW, where it isnt unclear, supports the use of PE from what I see.
3 hours ago, Drasnighta said:Well, According to the section entitled Shields.... Shields can be Spent, removed or Recovered.
When you increase them, they are not being spent or removed... So the implication is they are being recovered - which works both colloquially and in rules-parsing since it has its inherent limitation of up to its original starting value - the very definition of recover, to regain what was lost. ?
Yes we're talking about shifting what already exists not recovering what was lost. I see it as borrowing or it buying. In this case I would take it as borrowing.
Edited by NooshI'm in the camp that Aspiration cannot recover (gain, borrow, regenerate, steal, whatever. LOL) shields from ANY source while any hull zone has shields remaining higher than the printed value. I can see both sides of the debate, but I feel this interpretation is the stronger argument, and most likely to be the designers intent. Therefore, this is how I would rule this in a tournament setting.
Move and Recover seem to have two distinctly different meanings. If PE had said to spend two shields to recover two shields on a nearby friendly, I would say no. But PE says move. RAW, it works.
RAI? Probably not supposed to.
Then again, which ship is gonna PE your Aspiration? MC80, MC80, CR90, or Pelta? CR90 doesn’t have the Engineering. Nobody ever seriously said anything involving the Pelta was OP. Liberties want engine techs. So a Home One?
Edited by Church14Just now, Church14 said:Move and Recover seem to have two distinctly different meanings. If PE had said to spend two shields to recover two shields on a nearby friendly, I would say no. But PE says move. RAW, it works.
RAI? Probably not supposed to.
Then again, which ship is gonna PE your Aspiration? MC80, MC80, CR90, or Pelta?
Salvation.
sunce it still works with a Sato75 ordnance aspiration.
Full shields basically turn 2
6 hours ago, Church14 said:Then again, which ship is gonna PE your Aspiration? MC80, MC80, CR90, or Pelta? CR90 doesn't have the engineering.
It has enough to push 2/turn. I've got a list built around ProjEx CR90's. Not that I'd necessarily run a CR90 shield battery here myself, but it's not that outlandish of an idea.
I always figure if you start a sentence...well....if you kinda read it this way then maybe...you are probably wrong.
11 minutes ago, Mogrok said:I always figure if you start a sentence...well....if you kinda read it this way then maybe...you are probably wrong.
What?
39 minutes ago, Mogrok said:I always figure if you start a sentence...well....if you kinda read it this way then maybe...you are probably wrong.
25 minutes ago, Astrodar said:What?
I always figure: if you start a sentence "well, if you kinda read it this way, then maybe ...", you are probably wrong.
I'd definitely go with the consensus here, its a cheap title, and it seems pretty clear there is supposed to be a cost inherent in the card usage, IE benefit here, risk this in return.
Would Aspiration be able to use a repair command to undo its effect?
Let's say I use Aspiration to move 2 shields from the rear to the front.
Then I decide I'm being attacked from behind, so I spend a Repair Token to resolve a Repair Command. I want to spend the 2 points to move the shields back. The second one works fine (by the time I want to add it to the rear hull zone I no longer have any hull zones with more than the maximum shields). But does the first go through, or does it just vanish? This seems to be the same "Move" v "Recover" issue.
As a pointer, consider Capacitor Failure:
QuoteIf a hull zone has no remaining shields, you cannot recover shields in it, nor move shields to it...
That treats recovering shields and moving shields as different things. That suggests an intention for them to be different, meaning you could us Projection Experts (and a Repair Command) to move shields on Aspiration. But that's RAIish reasoning.
2 hours ago, Grumbleduke said:Would Aspiration be able to use a repair command to undo its effect?
Let's say I use Aspiration to move 2 shields from the rear to the front.
Then I decide I'm being attacked from behind, so I spend a Repair Token to resolve a Repair Command. I want to spend the 2 points to move the shields back. The second one works fine (by the time I want to add it to the rear hull zone I no longer have any hull zones with more than the maximum shields). But does the first go through, or does it just vanish? This seems to be the same "Move" v "Recover" issue.
As a pointer, consider Capacitor Failure:
That treats recovering shields and moving shields as different things. That suggests an intention for them to be different, meaning you could us Projection Experts (and a Repair Command) to move shields on Aspiration. But that's RAIish reasoning.
Good question. It will probably have to be answered together with the original "Aspiration+PE" question since the keywords involved are the same.