Ordnance Pods, single attack, or full AS Attack step?

By Thraug, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

12 minutes ago, Don Henderson fan club said:

I don't understand why the Ordnance Pods effect should be interpreted as a volley/salvo affecting all squadrons in the firing arc. The upgrade card has the wording "... perform an attack ...", in the singular , and the FAQ expressly states that a volley/salvo comprises several attacks.

A ship makes two attacks a turn.

one if those SINGULAR attacks comprises attacking every squadron in an arc.

It’s very unfortunate that two separate concepts have the same name.

I mean, look at the FAQ for Slaved Turrets - it can only make a singular attack - which can be all squadrons in an arc.

this is completely different to attacking a single squadron, as per Impetuous.

Edited by Drasnighta
14 minutes ago, Don Henderson fan club said:

I don't understand why the Ordnance Pods effect should be interpreted as a volley/salvo affecting all squadrons in the firing arc. The upgrade card has the wording "... perform an attack ...", in the singular , and the FAQ expressly states that a volley/salvo comprises several attacks.

Read Impetuous, then get back to us.

I have read Impetuous, but it doesn't seem to me to justify ignoring the FAQ.

Edited by Don Henderson fan club
spelling correction
Just now, Don Henderson fan club said:

I have read impetuous, but it doesn't seem to me to justify ignoring the FAQ.

What FAQ in particular?

4 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

What FAQ in particular?

FAQ p4, top of second column:

Step 6, “Declare Additional Squadron Target,” should include the following bullet point:

“Treat each repetition of steps 2 through 6 as a new attack for the purposes of resolving card effects.”
Edited by Don Henderson fan club
change RR for FAQ
16 minutes ago, Don Henderson fan club said:

FAQ p4, top of second column:

Step 6, “Declare Additional Squadron Target,” should include the following bullet point:

“Treat each repetition of steps 2 through 6 as a new attack for the purposes of resolving card effects.”

Counterpoint: slaved turrets faq

Otherwise, feel free not to ignore it.

I’m not going to tell you how to play your game.

38 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Otherwise, feel free not to ignore it.

I’m not going to tell you how to play your game.

Thanks. :)

In the way, I have it on good authority that “attack” as mentioned here is indeed a full salvo.

The intent of the faq is for things that do apply to singular attacks, so they do not apply to every attack of a salvo without being paid for separately.

However, as Ordnance Pods is resolved BEFORE and TO enable a full salvo, the faq of applying to individual attacks does not apply, as the card is not resolving for every attack.

8 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

In the way, I have it on good authority that “attack” as mentioned here is indeed a full salvo.

That certainly puts a different complexion on it! Thanks.