Bail + Raddus

By OlaphOfTheNorth, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Raddus: "Before deploying fleets, you may set aside 1 other friendly ship. At the start of any round, you may deploy that ship at distance 1 of a friendly ship. That ship cannot be deployed overlapping squadrons and cannot be the first ship to activate that round."

Bail Organa: "After deploying fleets, you may place 1 round token on this card. At the start of the ship phase on the round matching that round token, if you are the second player, you must activate; [snip]"

I'm second. I put Bail Organa on my Raddus'd MC80L Battlecruiser and pick round 3. At the start of round 3, I bamf in the Battlecruiser. Now, at start of ship phase, it must activate because of Bail but cannot activate because of Raddus.

What do?

Edited by OlaphOfTheNorth
(clarification, correction)

Cannot beats must.

In which case Bail's effect just gets ignored and my opponent goes first on round 3?

Raddus removes Bail from play before deploying fleets.

After deploying fleets, when you would place a round token on Bail, he is not in play.

Later, when Bail is brought into play, there's no token on his card, and he does nothing.

I have now decided “BAMF” is the noise Raddus effect makes in my head. Perfect. Thank you for that one

29 minutes ago, Church14 said:

I have now decided “BAMF” is the noise Raddus effect makes in my head. Perfect. Thank you for that one

Image result for nightcrawler bamf

4 hours ago, svelok said:

Raddus removes Bail from play before deploying fleets.

After deploying fleets, when you would place a round token on Bail, he is not in play.

Later, when Bail is brought into play, there's no token on his card, and he does nothing.

Seconded--this was the resolution somebody came up with when this was first asked, and it's consistent.

GK is also right that cannot > must, though.

On 1/17/2018 at 8:19 AM, svelok said:

Raddus removes Bail from play before deploying fleets.

After deploying fleets, when you would place a round token on Bail, he is not in play.

Later, when Bail is brought into play, there's no token on his card, and he does nothing.

This is a very elegant and understandable ruling. I love it.

It's as if they were written to work together without ambiguity. Amazing!

If true, that also puts the kybosh on another plan i had which was nominate bail for turn 4 (say) and raddus in on turn 3 in ambush position. Oh well.

Oh nuts... that means my cunning plan for Fleet Patrol has just unravelled very quickly :-(