Let's move the conversation out of the unboxing thread.
Can Strategic Advisor be used if the ship it is equipped on has already activated this turn?
Let's move the conversation out of the unboxing thread.
Can Strategic Advisor be used if the ship it is equipped on has already activated this turn?
Wouldn't "your turn" be the ship this is on? If "your turn" is only the equipped ship, there you go.
If "your" is the player there isn't anything that causes all of the upgrades on a card to be non-active if the ship has performed its activation. Performing an activation does not exhaust the upgrades on the ship. You can still exhaust the card and there is no range restriction or timing that would come into play. In that case I'd ask why couldn't you use it?
The "large ship only" restriction suggests to me this is only applicable to the ship it is on. Delaying an ISD activation against an MSU fleet for example.
Edited by Frimmel
"your opponent activates a ship instead " implies the large ship this is on remains unactivated. Since there is no mention the large ship this card is on must activate next after you get the turn back, you could activate any other unactivated ships first. So when you have a 4 ship fleet including 1 large with this card, vs an opponent with 3 ships, activation could go:
your ship - opponents ship - [your large ship exausts strategic advisor] - opponent's ship - your ship - opponent's ship - your ship - your large ship with strategic advisor.
imho.
I'll combine various comments I've made on this here.
Ships do not have 'turns' they have activations. The only things taking turns are the players.
If it specifically meant the ship the card is attached to skips it's activation I imagine it would have said something like 'When you would activate, you may exhaust this card to pass your activation...'
Let's assume the card does mean only the ship it's attached to - when do you the player know when it is that's ships turn to activate? Ships don't activate in turn, they activate whenever you the player decide they do. Also, when your 'turn' passes are you then required to have that ship take it's turn next, or can you use another ship? If you choose another ship then you've effectively passed that ship again...unless you MUST activate the previously passed ship but then it doesn't say that anywhere. This doesn't make sense.
Simply put it just means as it says: when you the player take your turn you may exhaust this card to pass your turn to your opponent.
It specifies Large ship to stop a) Interdictor titles using it twice and b) to stop MSU fleets using it. [It is after all a
Strategic
Advisor]
example use: you are 1st player and have an ISD, Glad and 2 Goz vs an opponent running 4 MC-30s
Turn 2 (for example): You activate the ISD, then opp activates a MC-30, then you activate a Goz, then opp activates a MC-30, you exhaust SA on the ISD, then opp activates a MC-30, you activate a Goz, then opp activates a MC-30 and then you activate your Glad.
3 minutes ago, Kendraam said:I'll combine various comments I've made on this here.
Ships do not have 'turns' they have activations. The only things taking turns are the players.
If it specifically meant the ship the card is attached to skips it's activation I imagine it would have said something like 'When you would activate, you may exhaust this card to pass your activation...'
I accept this logic. It makes more sense as "your turn" being the player.
54 minutes ago, Valca said:Let's move the conversation out of the unboxing thread.
![]()
Can Strategic Advisor be used if the ship it is equipped on has already activated this turn?
Yes.
We can exhaust other things on previously activated ships, why not this? Nothing in the card denies that ability.
Given the above 'you' on an upgrade card no longer appears to specifically refer to only the ship it is equipped to. In fact, looking at Bail Organa the instances of 'you' refer, in the same sentence, to the player 'you' and the ship 'you'.
OE is about to get way better if we're going to start saying "your" refers to the player, not the ship.
Or, we could just do what the RRG says and accept that "you" refers to the ship, not the player...
It's definitely the player.
Players take turns to activate ships.
Ships just activate. They don't get "turns".
The wording would otherwise have been "Before you activate..."
Edited by DiabloAzul
Makes this card pretty amazing for 4 points doesn't it?
Edited by Lord Tareq
Ship Phase
During this phase, the first player
activates one of his ships
. Then the second player
activates one of his own ships
.
Players continue taking turns
in this manner until all
ships have been activated
.
Game Round (quick reference)
Each game round consists of four phases. During the Ship Phase and Squadron Phase, the
players take turns
, starting with the player who has initiative.
Ship Phase (quick reference)
Players take turns
activating one of their unactivated ships
, proceeding through the following steps:
...and so on. Only players ever take turns.
8 minutes ago, Lord Tareq said:Makes this card pretty amazing for 4 points doesn't it?
It would be, if large ships were really worth their cost in points.
I think we can agree this one ought to be declared as [RAW UNCLEAR] until we get an FAQ. However, Bail Organa also breaks the you=ship paradigm...
... by explicitly referring to the player, as "you". The RRG tells us:
QuoteShip Phase
During this phase, the first player activates one of his ships. Then the second player activates one of his own ships. Players continue taking turns in this manner until all ships have been activated.
• Players cannot activate ships that have already been activated.
• If a player has no unactivated ships remaining, he must pass his turn for the rest of the phase.
Taken together, it would seem Strategic Adviser is referring to you - the player - 's turn to activate, and can be exhausted regardless of whether you - the ship - has activated already.
9 minutes ago, Lord Tareq said:Makes this card pretty amazing for 4 points doesn't it?
4 points, and the officer slot on a large ship which is prime real estate.
I don't think it's overly powerful, just unclearly worded. Because
13 minutes ago, DiabloAzul said:Ships just activate. They don't get "turns".
But
15 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:you" refers to the ship, not the player...
Good point on Bail.
God dammit, FFG.
Well, I'm pretty sure ships don't exhaust cards either. There are various instances in the rules where "you" doesn't mean the ship. But when it can , it does.
1 minute ago, DiabloAzul said:Well, I'm pretty sure ships don't exhaust cards either. There are various instances in the rules where "you" doesn't mean the ship. But when it can , it does.
In those cases (which I believe is every case other than Bail and StratA?), you're sort of acting as your ship's hands. Never was there a situation where expanding "you" to mean "this ship, except its player uses their hands to do the physical thing" broke a mechanic. (But this wave mucks a lot with core game mechanics - activation, command dials, deployment, etc. We're doing pretty good to only have 1 or 2 unclear cards, tbh).
Sort of. There are more weird cases. Just look at Hondo:
Who/what is doing the choosing? First, does Hondo's ship choose tokens? And second, does "your opponent" mean [the player]'s opponent or [Hondo's ship]'s opponent? And does this mean that the first choice is made by a ship, and the second made by a player?
We don't even notice it because it's both obvious and immaterial most of the time .
Also Minister Tua:
In the first line, "You" means the ship to which the card is equipped. It only applies once the card has been equipped.
In the second, "You" can only mean the player - as it only has any effect if the card has not yet been equipped to any ship!
2 hours ago, Valca said:Let's move the conversation out of the unboxing thread.
![]()
Can Strategic Advisor be used if the ship it is equipped on has already activated this turn?
Yep. The card is referring to the player's turn, not the ship's turn, since you choose which ship to activate next during your turn.
It is not referring to the ship, and it can be used outside of activation of the ship carrying it.
There are many many cards that have "you" on them that are used outside of the ship equipped with it as an upgrade activation, some have been listed here already.
ECM, RFBD are another two that come to mind. The Grand Inquisitor also.
And Ard what do you mean OE are about to get better? they can already be used when you "Counter" attack outside of the ships activation.
23 minutes ago, TheEasternKing said:It is not referring to the ship, and it can be used outside of activation of the ship carrying it.
There are many many cards that have "you" on them that are used outside of the ship equipped with it as an upgrade activation, some have been listed here already.
ECM, RFBD are another two that come to mind. The Grand Inquisitor also.
And Ard what do you mean OE are about to get better? they can already be used when you "Counter" attack outside of the ships activation.
Ordnance Pods maybe?
@ek:
There are very few upgrades--none, in fact, on a cursory review of the cards--where "you" doesn't refer to the ship to which the upgrade is applied. Because supposedly that's what "you" on a card means, according to the RRG.
OE says " you may reroll any of your black dice". If "your" refers to the player instead of to the equipped ship, what limits the OE on Admonition from rerolling the black dice on Foresight? Nothing but convention, as far as I can tell, since they're still that player's dice, and OE permits the player to reroll any of the player's dice. Same with any number of other upgrades that were written correctly with respect to "you" referring to the ship, not the player.
It's obviously not the case that one OE applies to your whole fleet. So what's the difference here?
The difference is a poorly-written card. Until somebody brought up that Bail, from the same wave, is explicitly wrong, it was a toss-up which part of the card was a mistake--calling a ship activation a "turn," or using "you/your" to refer to the player instead of the ship. Clearly, I was using a rigorously-written rule set to interpret a non-rigorously written card.
The precedence of this kind of outright ****-up on two separate cards makes it very hard to divine intent from RAW in general, and just aggravates the problem they already have with the slow FAQ release cycle. If there are blatant mistakes on cards that we can identify them on, how many other cards are misinterpreted because we can't identify the mistakes? How can we use minute interpretations consistent with the RRG (as JJ's answer to Thrawn indicates they expect us to do) when there are huge glaring mistakes on some of the cards?
Whoops, missed that the thread had moved on and that there are more examples above. Point still stands. In fact, the final point is stronger since there are other cards with this same mistake that nobody noticed because it wasn't as blatant as Bail or as relevant as SA.
Edited by ArdaedhelI see what you mean, and understand your point.
But it says "your turn to activate you may exhaust this card."
Activation order is swapped between player one and player two, you pick a ship when its your turn and you activate it. The card clearly says your turn, IE when you should pick a ship, instead exhaust this card. You do not use it when you activate the ship its equipped to, so to reverse the "you can't use it after the ship is activated." just exactly how are you using before the ship is activated? the same logic applies.
14 minutes ago, TheEasternKing said:I see what you mean, and understand your point.
But it says "your turn to activate you may exhaust this card."
Activation order is swapped between player one and player two, you pick a ship when its your turn and you activate it. The card clearly says your turn, IE when you should pick a ship, instead exhaust this card. You do not use it when you activate the ship its equipped to, so to reverse the "you can't use it after the ship is activated." just exactly how are you using before the ship is activated? the same logic applies.
I think maybe you don't understand my point? Because I didn't say anything about a ship having to be activated to trigger an upgrade card equipped to it in the general case.
In the case of this particular card, it is triggered when "it is your turn to activate." If the "your" referred to the ship, and the error on the card had been calling a ship activation a "turn to activate," then this particular card would be triggered when I as the player point at the equipped ship and said "I'm activating you, BUT WAIT! not really." Which you can only do with an unactivated ship.
However, because the error is instead that "your" is being used to refer to the player, that triggering condition happens every time the turn is swapped, obviating the need to have the equipped ship unactivated to trigger SA.
Also, you can stop trying to convince me on the interpretation of the card. I conceded the question above when somebody pointed out that Bail has the same error, changing it from a 50-50 on where the error was to being much more likely that the error is in the use of "your."