Slam + overlap + PTL

By Grendelator, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Little stupid question

after performing a SLAM, can we trigger a free action granted by PTL (or EI)

Rule says

Quote

• A ship can perform free actions even if it skipped its “Perform Action” step due to overlapping an asteroid obstacle or another game effect.

Quote

OVERLAPPING SHIPS

A ship overlaps another ship when executing a maneuver if its base overlaps the other ship’s base. If this happens, move the moving ship backward along the template until it is no longer overlapping another ship. While doing so, adjust the facing of the ship so that the template remains centered between both sets of guides on the ship’s base. Once the ship is no longer overlapping another ship, place it so that it is touching the last ship it overlapped. The ship must skip its “Perform Action” step this round.
• While a ship is touching another ship, those ships cannot attack each other. They can still attack enemy ships that they are not touching.
• A ship may still perform free actions even if it overlapped another ship.
• When executing a maneuver, if a ship overlaps more than one ship, it is treated as having overlapped only the ship or ships that it is touching in its final position.

FAQ says

Quote

Q: If a ship is required to skip its “Perform Action” step (for example, if its final position overlapped another ship), is it still allowed to perform free actions outside of the “Perform Action” step?

A: Yes.

Is I understand well:

2 things triggers if a ship equiped with PTL do an overlaping SLAM.

1-PTL trigger

2-the overlaping is ending the action phase (as we can't do SLAM as a free action, we must be in action phase)

Can we resolve the triggers as we wan't ? (PTL then the end of the action phase)

Any ruling to this ?

Hmmmm, RAI I doubt you should be able to PTL off a SLAM that overlapped, but RAW I think maybe you can.

Overlapping on the Adaptive Aerilons forced maneuver before doing your regular one does not stop you from doing an action. The only reason you can't do a free action from Advanced SLAM after overlapping is it specifically said so on the card. If your first action is to SLAM then there's no rule I can think of that would force you to give up your free Push/EI Action. They don't care about phase they just need an action first which you've already done. So unless someone has a counter argument I haven't thought of I'd say yeah, under current rules SLAM through a rock and then Push all day. Unless you fly through debris, the stress would still hit before the SLAM Action is complete so you wouldn't be able to do anY action then of course.

If this becomes a thing though I might expect it to get FAQed out.

I'm aware for the stress given by debris, but in cass of asteroid or bumping a ship...

Can't find anything in the rules that stop the PTL to trigger. And as we can do free action outside the action phase....

There's nothing to prevent this. You can't Advanced SLAM after a bump, but you can PTL or EI just fine.

When they change the advanced SLAM, why didn't they only change the SLAM rule also preventing it to trigger PTL or EI ?

Maybe it's in the next FAQ with the new alpha ship ;)

2 hours ago, Grendelator said:

When they change the advanced SLAM, why didn't they only change the SLAM rule also preventing it to trigger PTL or EI ?

One, there's literally no way to do that unless you make SLAM no longer an action. Two, there's nothing overpowered with those interactions; both PtL and EI are a point more than ASLAM and come with an additional drawback in stress, which none of the native SLAM ships are particularly great at clearing.

Makes sense because you're already in the Action step. A bit weird, though.

Edited by D00kies
8 hours ago, DR4CO said:

One, there's literally no way to do that unless you make SLAM no longer an action. Two, there's nothing overpowered with those interactions; both PtL and EI are a point more than ASLAM and come with an additional drawback in stress, which none of the native SLAM ships are particularly great at clearing.

And for completeness, Burnout SLAM only works once, unless you pay a minimum of 34 points for Jabba to get an extra use. Equipping two of them has the same effect as equipping one, they're both discarded if you do a single SLAM.

Having this debate in our local group right now, one question:
does "skip your Perform Action step" mean "Put an end to it if you are already in this step" ?

This is the argument of people saying that PTL is not possible on a SLAM overlap.

You can PTL after SLAM, cause you just made an action. PTL give you free action.

Quote

slaM t iMing

If an effect triggers "after performing an action" or "after executing a maneuver," these effects occur at the same time after a ship performs a SLAM action.

If the SLAM overlap, you skip the action phase. But you still have the free action from PTL to resolve

If you're not stressed, you can do free actions outside the action phase, so you can do the PTL free action even if the action phase is already ended.

Quote

Q: If a ship is required to skip its “Perform Action” step (for example, if its nal position overlapped another ship), is it still allowed to perform free actions outside of the “Perform Action” step?

A: Yes.

Q: Can a ship that is overlapping an asteroid perform free actions?

A: Yes.

Quotes are from FAQ

Edited by Grendelator
add quotes

Thanks. This is well articulated.