Taskmaster Grint and Thrawn

By Parkdaddy, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

If Grint is equipped to the same ship as Thrawn, does he gain a token for one of Thrawn’s dials?

Grint triggers “when you reveal a Command (no mention of dial)...” Thrawn reads “you may reveal and discard a Command dial...” Thrawn also reads that the dials in question are placed on his (Thrawn) card, and Thrawn is equipped to the ship.

I see 2 layers to this question. First, does revealing the Command dial for Thrawn constitute the timing of Taskmaster Grint? Grint would not work on dials gained by Thrawn’s ability because they are gained and not revealed, but Thrawn has “you” reveal a dial. FFG treats “you” in upgrade cards as referring to the ship it is equipped to, but admirals are sometimes different. These dials are equipped to Thrawn, who is equipped to the ship. Where does Thrawn fall?

Second, is Grint referring to the enumerated step “reveal a Command” as a timing mechanism, or to the actual flipping of a dial as a trigger? If it refers to an enumerated step, which I’m leaning towards, then I believe Thrawn would not trigger Grint. However, Thrawn does provide a separate step from the RRG/LTP for revealing a Command dial within his own text. So which is it?

Just trying to pose thoughtful questions for discussions’ sake and to keep my logic sharp.

If I were forced to make a call right now, having spent one minute to look at the cards, I would rule that, in the situation you describe, Grint gains a token when Thrawn reveals his dial. He then gains another one when the ship he is on reveals it's command, provided it is the same as the command Thrawn revealed. Of course, unless something has caused you to discard the first token, the second one will be immediately discarded.

35 minutes ago, Parkdaddy said:

Second, is Grint referring to the enumerated step “reveal a Command” as a timing mechanism, or to the actual flipping of a dial as a trigger? If it refers to an enumerated step, which I’m leaning towards, then I believe Thrawn would not trigger Grint.

There is no step identified as "reveal a Command." There is one called "Reveal Command Dial." IMO, thrawn causes you to reveal a command dial, so he is revealing a command dial.

More interesting question, now that you've got me thinking about it: how does "Crew Panic" affect Thrawn? I'm going to argue that it doesn't; on the grounds that his dials are assigned to him, while Crew Panic targets the ship. But the alternative seems fairly reasonable, too.

come on guys, it wasnt far down