Affiliation and command card restrictions

By Trevize84, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi all,

Looking at cards like One in a Million, it looks pretty straightforward to me that I can use it with Jyn even when I brought Jyn in my list with Temporary Alliance.

So to make this very clear, first question is: can I use One in a Million with Jyn even if I run a mercenary list with Temporary Alliance?

Discussing about this with a friend he pointed out that if my interpretation is right (I think answer to the first question should be yes) then the rebel symbol before Jyn's name in the restriction box of the command card is useless.

Initially I thought the symbol was something we are carrying on since core set and introduced for future uses. Then I came up with a scenario where it may apply.

Second question is: can I play One in a Million in the following scenario?

Let's assume I run an imperial list and I activate an imperial spy and play Data Theft to steal One in a Million from discard pile of my rebel opponent. In the same round I activate Inquisitor and I play Lure of the Dark Side to perform an attack using Jyn Odan. During this attack I want to play One in a Million. My opinion is that One in a Million can't be used because of that little rebel symbol in the restriction box. The figure performing the attack is clearly Jyn Odan but her affiliation is somehow changed during this attack. However I found no text in RRG supporting this assumption.

Third question: if the symbol doesn't restrict a situation like the previous I mentioned, is it really redundant?

Thanks!

Edited by Golan Trevize

All command cards with restriction boxes are played on a figure. The affiliation must match to the figure it is played on.

I'm pretty sure it's fully defined like this in the skirmish guide.

Figures Using Command Cards said:

Many Command cards have a restriction box listed above the
ability. These cards must be played on a single friendly figure
that matches the restrictions listed (often a trait or figure name).
If the player does not have any eligible figures on the map, then
he cannot play the card. Command cards with a restriction box
use the word "you" to refer to the figure using the ability.

I don't see any affiliation restrictions on including command cards, just playing them.

RRG, Command Cards said:

When playing a Command card that lists a trait, figure name,
and/or affiliation icon, it is used by a single figure that matches
all of these restrictions.

I think these rules resolve your questions.

Edited by a1bert

In essence this opens the potential for say, a Merc version of Han. Say Han Solo, Jabba's courrier. Who then cannot use the original Han Solo card. Different from how both versions of Luke Skywalker can use his Command Card.

@a1bert , you mentioned this: " These cards must be played on a single friendly figure that matches the restrictions listed ". Is Jyn considered friendly during the attack made with Lure of the Dark Side?

Edited by Golan Trevize

Ah, I didn't read the second question too closely.

When performing an attack with another figure, the figure is hostile towards all other figures (and vice versa). (I'm not too familiar about the definition of figures friendly to the player though.) It would seem that no-one can play command cards on the attacking figure when performing an attack with a hostile figure.

Some abilities allow players to perform an attack with a hostile
figure. To resolve such an attack, the player resolving the
ability controls the hostile figure for the duration of that attack.

-- The player resolving the ability chooses the target of the
attack. All non-neutral figures are considered hostile and no
figures are considered friendly while performing this attack.
The figure cannot target itself.

Edited by a1bert