About Embrace the Void

By RafaelNN, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Embrace the void activates only once per round?

For example: If during a conflict I lose to the void ring defending, and my opponent takes 1 fate from a character with embrace the void, I get that fate in my pool. Later, at the end of the round, when fate is removed, if a second fate is removed from that same character, I wouldnt get it, right? Because the interrupt is a triggered ability so only happens once per round

Edited by RafaelNN

Yes, it's a triggered ability. Like all triggered abilities, you can only use it once per round. However, it does say to put all of the fate removed into your pool, so if someone uses Feast or Famine or something else to remove multiple fate at once, you can claim all of them from that one instance. Later that round, if it loses fate again, you won't be able to activate it.

So yeah, base case is you have a 2+ fate character. It gets void ringed, and you take that fate right away into your pool with the ability. Later that round, during the fate phase, you can't also take the fate it loses at the end of the turn.

Ok thanks.

Now that you mention it, how does embrace the void interact with feast or famine? Does it:

a) not work since another character gets the fate

b) embrace the void takes the fate to my pool so the fateless target of feast or famine gets nothing

c) fate is moved to my pool AND additionally fate is placed (from the general fate pool of the game) on the fateless target

d) some other result (and why)

It works great against Feast or Famine. If you trigger the interrupt ability, the fate leaves the character it was on. Instead of going to anywhere else (like the opponent's character), you put it into your pool. Your opponent won't receive the fate, though your character is probably fateless now too.

Specifically, Embrace the Void is an interrupt, which means that it essentially happens before the fate is moved from one character to the other; therefore once Feast or Famine triggers there is no longer any fate on the character to move.

But yeah, it's a once per turn effect unfortunately. It really should have had at least two uses, as it would have been synergistic with wanting to win Void rings. As it is it's actually a disincentive.

I have another question:

How does Embrace the void interact with Togasi Kazue‘s ability?

1 hour ago, Kroc said:

I have another question:

How does Embrace the void interact with Togasi Kazue‘s ability?

It basically replaces the destination. Rather than removing it and putting it on Kazue's character, or into the common pool, it goes into your fate pool instead.

So it does not matter that Embrace the Void is „removed“ and Kazue is „move“?

because I was under the impression both are different expressions also rule-wise.

8 hours ago, Kroc said:

So it does not matter that Embrace the Void is „removed“ and Kazue is „move“?

because I was under the impression both are different expressions also rule-wise.

It does not. Move is just "Remove from this card, Place on this card".