Isawa Kaede/Seeker of Knowledge vs. Display of Power

By kraken78, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Say I am attacked by ISAWA KAEDE and SEEKER OF KNOWLEDGE. I then respond with DISPLAY OF POWER. Do I trigger all 3 ring effects or just one? The cards' statements are kind of circuitous and I think an argument could be made for both "yes" and "no". Can anyone direct me to a clear rule clarification that clears this up.

I have no idea what I'm talking about but will pretend I do

Edited by AradonTemplar

RRG v1.1 FAQ

"Because Display of Power interacts with the Resolve Ring Effects step rather than the specific effect chosen by the attacker, the attacker does not have the option to choose a specific ring effect to resolve when Seeker of Knowledge is attacking (or whether they would like to resolve a ring effect at all). When Display of Power resolves the ring effect, the defender has the opportunity to choose which ring effect they would like to resolve instead ."

Developer ruling

"Kaede’s ability applies only while she is attacking, AND the second part applies only if she wins as the attacker.
If the replacement that changes the selection from “choose one” to “resolve each” is active, when the player who played Display of Power is resolving the conflict’s ring effect, Kaede’s effect will affect how the ring resolves. (So that the Display of Power controller resolves each [element of the contested] ring.)"