Apollo's Alert Viper Pilot ability

By MelDi, in Battlestar Galactica

Is there any limitation on the action Apollo can take when using his Alert Viper Pilot ability? We had a game last night where someone launched unmanned vipers allowing Apollo to jump into one of them and then play an executive orders card to allow someone else to take two actions – net result 4 actions in one turn.

At the time we house ruled that Apollo was limited to taking a viper only action when launching this way (moving/attacking), which was unpopular with the character playing Apollo. What I’d like to know is if it was intended to allow Apollo to play cards out of turn when launching this way, or if the intent of the ability was to allow him to act in the viper only. It just seemed a bit unbalanced at the time to allow Apollo to start playing executive orders or Quorum cards (if he was the president), while scrambling to launch in another players turn.

If a card or rule says that you can "take an action" it can be any action. There is no such thing as a "Viper action" as defined by the rules.

Another popular tactic is to have Starbuck start her turn in a Viper, then move to the Press Room and draw four Politics cards.

This also means that Apollo can EO the person who launched the unmanned viper so that he/she can launch more of them. This doesn't work if the person who lauched vipers was EO'd though.

Fair enough, it seemed a little powerful at the time, but I can see how that is the correct interpretation of the rules.

Thanks for the replies