Wide Area Bombarr where?

By Muelmuel, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

swm30_card_wide-area-barrage.png

Wde-area barrage looks good to spread some love around neighbours. But how is the damage to the second ship/squadron applied? It is not an attack so damage is applied directly. Where does it go? Does the defender choose any hull zone(s) like the rule for debris fields?

Page 4, RRG

DAMAGE

• When a ship suffers damage and a hull zone isn’t specified, the ship’s owner chooses which hull zone suffers all of that damage.
Edited by Drasnighta

Thanks. I was vagely remembering some rrg ruling like that. :) Couldn't find it after doing a quick search hence the post

I think this card will have more of a secondary effect then the primary effect. I feel like this will have the effect of getting your opponent flying more spread out, which could be more beneficial to you then the primary effect of the card.

Thankfully it won't be able to proc off anti-SQN attacks.

Can I just confirm that if a nearby ship or squadron has to take say 2 damage from overspill, this cannot be mitigated by any of the following....

  1. Brace
  2. Scatter
  3. Redirect (part of it)
  4. Major Derlin
  5. Jan Orrs (lending a brace)
  6. Gallant Haven
  7. Biggs
  8. Anything else I haven't thought of

I would be grateful if someone can confirm:

1)

If the defender suffers 4 damage, do you have to spread the 4 damage between that ship and the other ship/squadron you want to take damage (eg. they both suffer 2), OR does it mean an extra 2 damage is generated. ie. The defender suffers 4, and the other ship suffers an 'extra' 2? (I'm thinking the latter..)

2) Does the crit kick in before the application of Brace?

So, say the defender suffers 4 damage prior to spending defence tokens (and doesn't have an evade). Does the crit take effect now, and generate 2 damage on the other ship, even if the defender later braces their damage down to 2?

Thanks

27 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

Can I just confirm that if a nearby ship or squadron has to take say 2 damage from overspill, this cannot be mitigated by any of the following....

  1. Brace
  2. Scatter
  3. Redirect (part of it)
  4. Major Derlin
  5. Jan Orrs (lending a brace)
  6. Gallant Haven
  7. Biggs
  8. Anything else I haven't thought of

Its gone past the step where any of these can be done as the damage is being applied.

24 minutes ago, Momonip said:

I would be grateful if someone can confirm:

1)

If the defender suffers 4 damage, do you have to spread the 4 damage between that ship and the other ship/squadron you want to take damage (eg. they both suffer 2), OR does it mean an extra 2 damage is generated. ie. The defender suffers 4, and the other ship suffers an 'extra' 2? (I'm thinking the latter..)

2) Does the crit kick in before the application of Brace?

So, say the defender suffers 4 damage prior to spending defence tokens (and doesn't have an evade). Does the crit take effect now, and generate 2 damage on the other ship, even if the defender later braces their damage down to 2?

Thanks

1. I wondered this while reading the article. it used phrases like "shares the damage" but reading the card itself I think you are right and it just generates extra to spill over.

2. Brace reduces the damage the target ship takes but the wording on the WAB card is half the number of <hits> on the dice so the target bracing wont hamper the spill over.

that could lead to some situations when the 'secondry' target takes more damage than the primary target :P

27 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

Can I just confirm that if a nearby ship or squadron has to take say 2 damage from overspill, this cannot be mitigated by any of the following....

  1. Brace
  2. Scatter
  3. Redirect (part of it)
  4. Major Derlin
  5. Jan Orrs (lending a brace)
  6. Gallant Haven
  7. Biggs
  8. Anything else I haven't thought of

Confirmed, with the exception of number 9

9. Anything else I havent thought of

25 minutes ago, Momonip said:

I would be grateful if someone can confirm:

1)

If the defender suffers 4 damage, do you have to spread the 4 damage between that ship and the other ship/squadron you want to take damage (eg. they both suffer 2), OR does it mean an extra 2 damage is generated. ie. The defender suffers 4, and the other ship suffers an 'extra' 2? (I'm thinking the latter..)

OR does it mean an extra 2 damage is generated. ie. The defender suffers 4, and the other ship suffers an 'extra' 2?

Think of it the same as ACM's which generate an additional 2 damage, the difference here is who suffers. It also means you cannot use any other critical effect, (without fire control teams anyway), so no face up damage on the defender.

25 minutes ago, Momonip said:

2) Does the crit kick in before the application of Brace?

So, say the defender suffers 4 damage prior to spending defence tokens (and doesn't have an evade). Does the crit take effect now, and generate 2 damage on the other ship, even if the defender later braces their damage down to 2?

Thanks

The crit is not affected by the brace. The crit counts the number of hit icons, and not the damage suffered. So if there are 4 hit icons, there are 4 hit icons. Lando, Mothma or Targeting Scramblers can still be used to remove the hit icons before the crit is applied, or indeed remove the crit itself.

Many thanks ?

28 minutes ago, Momonip said:

I would be grateful if someone can confirm:

1)

If the defender suffers 4 damage, do you have to spread the 4 damage between that ship and the other ship/squadron you want to take damage (eg. they both suffer 2), OR does it mean an extra 2 damage is generated. ie. The defender suffers 4, and the other ship suffers an 'extra' 2? (I'm thinking the latter..)

2) Does the crit kick in before the application of Brace?

So, say the defender suffers 4 damage prior to spending defence tokens (and doesn't have an evade). Does the crit take effect now, and generate 2 damage on the other ship, even if the defender later braces their damage down to 2?

Thanks

1) The crit is extra damage. The target suffer normal damage from the attack as always. If you roll 4 damage the target suffer 4 damage.
The cirt does 2 extra damage to another target. The cirt does not remove any dice from the pool or does chance anything else. It just does extra damage.

2) Brace does not change anything on this. If you roll 4 black hit or hit/crit you still have these 4 dice. A brace does not change anything on this.
But the order is: First the crit, than the damage. This means that you first deal the extra damage to the secondary target, and after this the main damage to the first target.
The only token, that can be used against this, is a Scatter token, used by the first target. Or a Contain with a Damage Control Officer (as well used by the first target).

And yes, the secondary target just suffer the damage. No way to reduce it with defense tokens or anything else.
A hit with 7 black hit icons means a Flotilla will die to the secondary effect (if there is one in range).

I will provide painting credit to someone who can independently verify that they killed 4 Flotillas/Small Ships with one activation, and no Squadron DICE were involved....

... a perfect setup with An imperfect build with almost perfect luck is required... but I want to see it happen...

2 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

I will provide painting credit to someone who can independently verify that they killed 4 Flotillas/Small Ships with one activation, and no Squadron DICE were involved....

... a perfect setup with An imperfect build with almost perfect luck is required... but I want to see it happen...

Sato, MC75, ExRax, WAB, CF, OS, 2 flotillas out the front and a side arc. 2+2 Sato+2 OS+1 CF = 7 blacks out a side; 3+2 Sato+2 ExRax = 7 out the front. Still have space for OE.

For this to happen you're going to have to have OS in an MC75 build, I think.

Oh wait, you won't have an accuracy out that front arc either, which means at least one target can't be a flotilla in this scenario. To say nothing of the fact that you'll have to roll one cold on a single red out the side arc.

Edited by Ardaedhel
7 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Oh wait, you won't have an accuracy out that front arc either, which means at least one target can't be a flotilla in this scenario. To say nothing of the fact that you'll have to roll one cold on a single red out the side arc.

Not quite, two intel officer corvettes to soften up in advance

Just now, Ginkapo said:

Not quite, two intel officer corvettes to soften up in advance

I guess my assumption was that "soften them up with something else first" didn't fall within the spirit of the challenge--which, given the issuer, was probably not a good assumption. :)

7 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Sato, MC75, ExRax, WAB, CF, OS, 2 flotillas out the front and a side arc. 2+2 Sato+2 OS+1 CF = 7 blacks out a side; 3+2 Sato+2 ExRax = 7 out the front. Still have space for OE.

For this to happen you're going to have to have OS in an MC75 build, I think.

Oh wait, you won't have an accuracy out that front arc either, which means at least one target can't be a flotilla in this scenario.

Home One.

Also you could use ramming tactics so there is a tiny space for less luck.

Just now, ovinomanc3r said:

Home One.

No, you're literally all blacks out the front. Home One takes care of that side arc roll with one red and 7 blacks, but not the front.

1 minute ago, Ardaedhel said:

No, you're literally all blacks out the front. Home One takes care of that side arc roll with one red and 7 blacks, but not the front.

He said flotilla/small ship right?

Also as I said. You just need 6 black dice from the front. The remaining damage is done by ramming during the same activation. So yep, Home One.

26 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

He said flotilla/small ship right?

Yup, which is why i said that at least one has to be a small ship, not a flotilla.

Though, yes, ramming the off-target does give you some wiggle room there.

This actually isn't really even that impractical. The worst aspect of it is running OS in an MC75 fleet... Everything else isn't all that bad. If you go for Home One it gets worse (I'm not sure I'm sold on an MC75/MC80 list yet...), but still not terrible.

He also didn't specify that the four ships had to be killed from full hit points either, so that makes it somewhat easier. :P

4 minutes ago, Helias de Nappo said:

He also didn't specify that the four ships had to be killed from full hit points either, so that makes it somewhat easier. :P

CR90B with engine techs.