I have a stupid question. Last night, my friend and I were playing a game. He plays Lion and I play Scorpion. During our game, there were many occasions where he tried attacking me and I would put his character at negative force. Now, the question is "If someone has 0 or negative force, can they claim a ring?"
negative Force
47 minutes ago, Bayushi Plo said:I have a stupid question. Last night, my friend and I were playing a game. He plays Lion and I play Scorpion. During our game, there were many occasions where he tried attacking me and I would put his character at negative force. Now, the question is "If someone has 0 or negative force, can they claim a ring?"
You must show at least 1 point of force to claim a ring. It can be from the favor as long as you have a body at the fight to allow presence but you must count at least 1 point.
46 minutes ago, Schmoozies said:You must show at least 1 point of force to claim a ring. It can be from the favor as long as you have a body at the fight to allow presence but you must count at least 1 point.
Thx
Edited by Bayushi PloAlso, you can't have negative skill. Skill is always minimum zero.
22 hours ago, InquisitorM said:Also, you can't have negative skill. Skill is always minimum zero.
Indeed, though the minimum is applied after all modifiers.
QuoteA quantity cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero: a card cannot have negative icons, political or military skill, glory, traits, cost, or keywords. Negative modifiers that would take a value below zero can be applied, but, after all active modifiers have been applied, any resultant value below zero is treated as zero.
36 minutes ago, Khudzlin said:Indeed, though the minimum is applied after all modifiers.
Seems to me like you're trying to confuse something that was perfectly clear and didn't raise any questions.
1 minute ago, InquisitorM said:Seems to me like you're trying to confuse something that was perfectly clear and didn't raise any questions.
You'd be surprised how often things that are perfectly clear to one person aren't perfectly clear to others.
Yes, but you haven't added anything. Now you've just implied where is something not-quite-correct about my previous answer. That only muddies the water for everyone.
On 1/1/2018 at 10:32 PM, InquisitorM said:Yes, but you haven't added anything. Now you've just implied where is something not-quite-correct about my previous answer. That only muddies the water for everyone.
But he did add something valuable. He quoted the rules which explain in detail how to deal with the situation. Just stating that a skill cannot be negative can be interpreted differently. Let me give you an example: your character has a military skill of 1, gets a poison (-2) and then a katana (+2). This means, that, by the rules, his final skill is 1. If you just say that a skill cannot be negative, someone could interpret it as if his character's skill is 2 ( 1 minus 2 is 0, plus 2 is 2).
I do not want to offend or anything, I just think that @Khudzlin 's response was important and helpful.
Edited by ichaos1985