A few rules question

By Saifur, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Hello , can someone help me out with a few questions please. Thanks in advance.

So, a few things i am not entirely sure how exactly work.Probably somehow missed them in the rule book.


1.When exactly are provinces face down cards replenished ? During the regroup phase ? Not when you voluntarily discard them , but when there is no dynasty card on the province and you need to place a new one

2. Rout card effect resolution. My opponent plays the card against my attacking character , who had + 1 military from my stronghold. Does " Rout " refers to the printed card cost or my stronghold bonus is taken into account ? His participating bushi character had more strength (without counting my stronghold bonus), but we played this as his rout cannot be used in this situation.

3. Duel resolution - if the card text states that the winner sends the loser home, the loser is send home bowed before his actual attack against the stronghold is resolved , correct ?

4.In regards to the above question , if a character goes home for whatever reason , he is immediately bowed, correct ?


5.We had a conflict phase, when after i declared attacker my opponent played a card ( can't remember the name) which states that if my character has lower military skill he returns all my fate tokens.Can i play " Way of the lion" event card after he used that ability , doubling my base military skill?

Thanks again !

1) Whenever a card leaves a province (because it is discarded, played, or put into play, whatever), immediately refill it facedown.

2) Rout cares about current skill, after all modifiers. The exception is imperial favor, which does not modify a character's skill, just your skill total at the conflict. So, Katanas, stronghold abilities, Banzai, all those count towards the total.

3) This is strictly what the duel says. If an effect like Rout or Kakita Kaezin sends a character home, they don't get bowed because nothing says to bow them. Since they aren't participating anymore, they won't bow at the end of the conflict either. Some things will say to send home and bow, but it will explicitly say so on the card.

4) No, see above. It will always say. If it doesn't say to bow, they won't be bowed.

5) No. There's no 'response' window to a card, unless it's an interrupt. When an opponent initiates an action (from a character, or a card in play), unless there is an appropriate 'interrupt' ability to be played, you move on to resolving the ability. Once someone plays Rout, you can't then increase your character's military strength in response. It's not like Magic.

Edit : In deeper answer to (5), there are 'nesting response windows' in this game. This means that when a player plays an action (or anything happens, really):

- there is an 'interrupt' timing window, in which players may play interrupts that trigger from that event, such as Censure.

- If a player does, there is another nested interrupt window in which a player could play another interrupt in response to the interrupt (like a 'Forged Edict your Censure' situation).

- If the interrupt window is passed by both players, then the action resolves.

- Afterwards, there is a reaction window which behaves the same way. Each player has an opportunity to play a reaction to the event. If nobody does, the game moves on.

- If someone does play a reaction, it triggers its own nested interrupt window, and then reaction window. After those resolve, it goes back to reactions to the original event, if anyone still has another reaction.

Summary: When a thing happens, there is a potential interrupt window, then the event itself resolves, then reaction window. In this framework, the 'thing' is your opponent playing their ability. Before that ability resolves, there is only the 'interrupt' window, so you can only do interrupt abilities before the original effect goes off. Each step of the process is considered a 'thing' if someone does something, so it can fragment as much as it needs to give every 'thing' its own interrupt, resolution, and reaction window.

Edited by AradonTemplar

Thanks ! Last questions , hopefully :D


Can you attack same province twice in one conflict phase ( if it already has one ring on it ) ?

Yeah, sure. If the first conflict doesn't break the province, you can try with your second conflict.

As a point of note, the ring moves from the province to a player's claimed ring pool if there was a victor (or back to the middle if both players end up at 0 participating skill), so it shouldn't be on the province after the conflict resolves.