Limits of Lyssa's Nine Lives

By kac, in Runebound

Had a situation come up today that I wasn't exactly certain of the right answer.

Of course, Lyssa has her Nine Lives ability, and of course there is the rule about when heroes are defeated by Villains. Given the foundational rule that cards supersede the rulebook, if Lyssa is defeated by the villain, does she get to exert to remove all her damage, or is she taken out of the game?

Thanks for your thoughts.

Unfortunately a defeat from a Villain eliminates you from the game so I don’t think in that instance her ability can be used. To me 9 lives triggered after the resolution of combat, when you would be placed in a defeated state. Against a villlain that doesn’t happen.

She’s still really good though.

Thanks for your thoughts!