Raddus vs Planetary Ion Cannon

By Crabbok, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Situation: I'm 1st player. I have a CR-90 with Raddus on board, and an MC-80 off the board, planning to deploy it soon with Raddus. (Lets say my other ships are destroyed.) Objective is planetary Ion Cannon

Beginning of round - I deploy MC-80.

End of Command Phase - Player 2 fires Ion Canon and kills CR-90.

Now my MC-80 is my only ship. Do I get a pass?

Misread /...

Edited by Ginkapo
2 minutes ago, Ginkapo said:

You are tabled.

how do you figure that?

Just now, Crabbok said:

how do you figure that?

Ignroe me

Edited by Ginkapo

What?

I have an mc-80 on the table

Raddus - CANNOT - This is the Golden Rule, so you get a pass.

5 hours ago, Ginkapo said:

Raddus - CANNOT - This is the Golden Rule, so you get a pass.

Agreed. I believe this question came up elsewhere, I think with Han Solo killing Raddus' CR90, and this was the general consensus. Weird edge case, but I do think you get a pass because Golden Rule (assuming Raddus is P1).

See... I feel like you'd actually be able to activate that ship first...

Because by the time you get around to picking your first activation... Raddus is no longer in play. Thus, you aren't beholden to any "cannot" clause.

Thoughts?

2 hours ago, Crabbok said:

See... I feel like you'd actually be able to activate that ship first...

Because by the time you get around to picking your first activation... Raddus is no longer in play. Thus, you aren't beholden to any "cannot" clause.

Thoughts?

I can see that side. I interpreted it under the precedent of the suspended effects of destroyed Fleet Command upgrades, but I could see it being ruled your way too. Certainly a little less weird your way: there aren't many examples in the game of suspended effects that aren't tracked by some physical mechanism like a token or dial.

The more I think about it... I'm feeling like unless an FAQ states that once Raddus leaves play, his effects remain, that he should follow the standard already established that when cards leave their effects go with them.

Found it . We didn't really reach a conclusion though.

1 hour ago, Crabbok said:

the standard already established that when cards leave their effects go with them.

Is that the standard though? There are numerous counterexamples. If Rieekan's flagship leaves play, zombies stay in play until the end of the round. If an AFFM Pelta is destroyed after having triggered AFFM, the affected squadrons still receive its benefit until the end of the round.

In fact, it seems to me that the precedent has been that an effect with a set duration which resolves and whose triggering card is subsequently removed from play remains in effect until the end of that set duration. I can't think of a counterexample to that rule, though I'd be happy to be shown otherwise.

ewan-mcgregor-wants-his-own-obi-wan-tril

But I think it's a pretty hard sell either way to say that one way or the other is definitely correct.

Fortunately, I think Gink is right:

On 10/29/2017 at 9:13 AM, Ginkapo said:

THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN

From reading Raddus, he was in play when the Mc80 (your example) is deployed.

So I'd say the MC80 is unable to be activated first, even if Raddus is no longer in play. His effect reads to me like the Fleet command upgrade cards.

But as Ardaedhel says, it could be argued the other way, as Raddus rules text are what defines the MC80s activation point for the round, if he is dead, then his rules text is no longer in play. Rieekan and the Fleet upgrades state end of round / end of status phase, which clearly defines even if they are dead, the effect is still in play.

Definitely a funny one.

I use the following common sense rule for such situations: when you have to try hard to find a reason/rule interpretation to do something, don't do something.

Edited by Lord Tareq