Unique Attachment Theft

By AradonTemplar, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Just wanted to confirm how we interpreted the situation:

I had a Talisman of the Sun, and my opponent took it with the Crab district. I wanted to play a second one to move away from my stronghold province. However, I was still the owner of the original Talisman (but not controller), and my reading of the rules was that if you own one that is in play, you can't play another one? So I was unable to play another of my own Talisman even though I wasn't the current controller of the one in play.

Does this sound right to you guys?

The RR only specifies unique restrictions by control, not ownership. If your opponent takes control of a unique character or item you can play another copy under your control.

-0qkXw9kTu6vOUdnHB1rkQ.png

Edited by shosuko
Just now, shosuko said:

The RR only specifies unique restrictions by control, not ownership. If your opponent takes control of a unique character or item you can play another copy under your control.

-0qkXw9kTu6vOUdnHB1rkQ.png

Your quote from the RR does specify ownership. Specifically "A player cannot take control of or bring into play a unique card if he or she already controls or owns an in-play copy of that card" (emphasis mine)

Whether this is what they intended, I'm not sure, but you still definitely own the unique attachment that is under the control of your opponent

4 minutes ago, Horizonshard said:

Your quote from the RR does specify ownership. Specifically "A player cannot take control of or bring into play a unique card if he or she already controls or owns an in-play copy of that card" (emphasis mine)

Whether this is what they intended, I'm not sure, but you still definitely own the unique attachment that is under the control of your opponent

Ah, didn't read it close enough I guess lol. So no you can't play a 2nd copy if they steal yours.

2 hours ago, Horizonshard said:

Whether this is what they intended, I'm not sure, but you still definitely own the unique attachment that is under the control of your opponent

This is business as usual in LCGs. AGoT's rule about unique cards says the same (and has additional stuff because characters can be killed, preventing other copies from coming into play).

Thanks, that's what I found too. Coming from Magic, I had expected it to work the other way, but instead I just lost the game :P